Get Tutoring Info Now
Info & Prices E-mailed
Display vt


I'm from Santa Barbara, California. I studied Literature/Writing and Religious Studies at University of California, San Diego. I enjoyed studying abroad in India my junior year! After college, I worked as a program director, and then moved on to graduate school at New York University in Humanities and Library Science. I am still working on finishing that degree at other universities, as my professional life has most recently taken me to Hawaii, where I lived the last three years! I am excited to return to family (and Mexican food!) in California, where I spend plenty of time at the beach, in yoga classes, doing volunteer activities, and tons of reading.

I have worked with children for over ten years, with highlights being a librarian at an elementary school and most recently as an assistant at a Hawaiian school. I have the most experience with K-8 and in English, language arts, and grammar. The highlight of being a tutor is finding the right "click" with my student. Sometimes it's the third way of explaining the math problem when the light bulb finally goes off and a smile lights up their face. Other times, we find a story where the protagonist has something in common with the student, and suddenly the student is interested to find out what happens in the book! Making that connection transforms learning into a fun, quality time tutoring adventure! I offer presence, patience, kindness, perseverance, ingenuity, and skill to every student I meet, every time. I look forward to meeting you!

Undergraduate Degree:

University of California-San Diego - Bachelors, Literature/Writing and Religious Studies

Graduate Degree:

New York University - Masters, Humanities

Reading, writing, poetry, yoga, volunteering, basketball, tutoring!

College English

Comparative Literature

Elementary School Math

High School English

Homework Support


Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization