1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Christopher

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Christopher, a tutor from Cal Poly, Pomona, California

Christopher

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am an Astronomy Major, working on a Master's Degree at SDSU.
I have an M.S. in Electrical Engineering (Computer Vision) from UCSB
and a B.S. in Chemical and Materials Engineering from Cal Poly, Pomona.
I work as an astronomy professor at Southwestern Community College.

I have Tutored Astronomy and Physics at SDSU for about a year and a half.
Prior to that, I tutored Math, Chemistry, and Physics at Cal Poly Pomona during my undergraduate degree. At Cal Poly Pomona, I was a member of Tau Beta Pi, an honors student engineering society, elected because of my academic performance. I have also taught electronics to non-science majors while I was at UC Santa Barbara.

I find out about the student I am tutoring and the subject matter. I believe in meeting the student at his or her level of understanding and proceed to help in the explanation of physical concepts and use practical examples. I often teach the student how to decode and understand word problems in math and physics and convert them into the simplest equations. My first class in Algebra in high school was a challenging course for me, and I remember needing to meet with the teacher before class to help me learn the concepts in order to keep up with the rest of the class.

Connect with a tutor like Christopher

Christopher’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Cal Poly, Pomona, California - Bachelor of Science, Chemical and Materials Engineering

Graduate Degree: UC Santa Barbara, California - Master of Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Hobbies

I am an astronomy major; I use telescopes at Mount Laguna Observatory to observe stars, planets, the Moon, and comets. I play guitar in a jazz trio along with my wife who is a vocalist and keyboard player. I like to watch basketball and football.


Connect with a tutor like Christopher