1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Sonia

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Sonia, a tutor from Excelsior College

Sonia

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Tutoring is assisting students/learners become independent life-long learners who are self-motivated and self-directed to follow their hearts, achieve their dreams, and meet their goals through the development of behaviors and habits which support their comprehension and processing of information. We work together (the student/learner and I) to build a resource toolkit specific to each learner's unique learning needs and management.

We work on building confidence, improving comprehension, application and analysis, as well as learn to brainstorm, outline, and define terms. My students/learners come from diverse backgrounds and cultures and include, but are not limited to my own children, their friends (elementary, middle school, high school and college), our family friends, co-workers, and their children (Military and non-military).

My professional affiliations for English and ESL include the National Council for Teachers of English, 1990 to present, The Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, 2009 to present, the National Association of Bilingual Education, 2018 to present, and the Teaching English to Speakers of Other Language (TESOL), 2018 to Present.

I am a mother of 3 (2 daughters and a son), a Veteran, Military spouse and Public Servant. I have CXC English, History, French, Principles of Business, Human Biology, Spanish and A-Level Literature. I hold a BS in Liberal Studies, MS in Human Resources, have graduate credits in Secondary English Language Arts, and post-graduate credits in Post-Secondary and Adult Education. I am trained in Military Medicine through AMEDD at Fort Sam Houston, TX. Currently, I am finishing studies in Teaching English as a Second/Foreign Language, and preparing to pursue an MBA with concentration in Leadership.

I am originally from the Caribbean (British), and all my Post-Secondary education has been in the United States. My experience with the ACT/SAT is through my own children. I have never taken either test. My children have always been 2 grades ahead of their age groups when tested at ages They tested in the 99% and 96% percentile for the gifted-talented program. My husband (also a Veteran) and I emphasize life-long learning and having fun. He is a Physician Assistant and currently completing his PhD in Physician Assistant. So there is a deliberate commitment to a growth mindset in our family.

Outside of fulltime work and part-time tutoring, I calm my senses by walking, dancing, listening to music, singing out load (Karaoke), bike riding, and the occasional binge watching on Netflix (with my family). Housecleaning does wonders for clearing my thoughts and processing feelings (especially when my children participate in completing their assigned chores). I enjoy Home & Garden Television (HGTV), interior design and decorating, landscaping designs and learning to care for plants and grow food (gardening). For continued personal and family growth, I am learning about investing and financial management with my children in tow.

So, everything I like and enjoy are resources for my toolkit designed to aid reflection, improve personal/professional development, support critical thinking, information processing, and action planning. Essentially, I am a product of my own teaching philosophy. I am proof that learning and growing never ceases, that there is always something to learn, whether it is using features on a new phone, following a recipe, making clothes or a bucket list, listening to music, watching a movie, or reading an article/book outside your comfort zone. It is important to remember learning is everywhere we go, and in everything we do at home, school, work, or play and in self-care.

REMINDERS:

1) I do not tutor Mathematics, or subjects related to Mathematics.
2) My experiences with the ACT & SAT are through my children. I have never taken these tests.
3) My preferred subjects are English and Writing and everything it takes to be better in theses areas, that is, organization, time management, study skills, critical analysis, etc.
4) I will not waste your child(dren)'s time, or your money. All time is valuable.

Thank you for choosing to share your learning journey with me. It's my pleasure to meet you and learn to work together.

Connect with a tutor like Sonia

Sonia’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Excelsior College - Bachelor of Science, Liberal Arts and Sciences

Graduate Degree: Troy University - Master of Science, Human Resources Management

Hobbies

Assigning chores to my children, going walking, dancing, listening to music, bike riding, learning new games (video and board), singing karaoke (all with my family and friends). I love Home and Garden Television (HGTV), interior design and decorating, landscape designing and gardening, investing and financial management, movies, books and me-time (self-care).

Tutoring Subjects

Adult ESL/ELL

British Literature

Business

CLEP Prep

CLEP Analyzing and Interpreting Literature

CLEP College Composition

CLEP English Literature

College English

Creative Writing

Elementary School English

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

Expository Writing

GED Prep

GED Reasoning Through Language Arts

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Human Development

Human Resources

Languages

Literature

Middle School English

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Reading

Science

Spanish

Spanish 1

STAAR Grades 3-8 Prep

Test Prep

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Sonia