A photo of Connor, a tutor from Washington and Lee University

Connor

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a recent graduate of Washington and Lee University who majored in Spanish and Politics. During my time at W&L I was a member of the Varsity Football team, an all-male a cappella group, and a peer tutor. One of my main ambitions at W&L was studying abroad. I had the opportunity to live in Cadz, Spain, Costa Rica, and Buenos Aires, Argentina. I was awarded a Fellowship for International Internships as well as a Spanish Scholarship Prize for my work and experiences abroad.

Almost every job I've had has involved working with kids. I've been involved in athletics my whole life and have a lot of experience coaching. I've worked with kids from 5 to 18 years old in various sports. However, my most recent work experiences have involved tutoring and counseling. I've worked with Latin American immigrant minors as a counselor and tutor and Costa Rican students, teaching English spelling and pronunciation. This past summer I was a Trip Leader with an outdoor adventure company for kids. I led groups of 14- to 16-year-olds throughout Costa Rica, performing service activities, practicing Spanish, and exploring the outdoors of Costa Rica.

I love the Spanish language and Latin American culture and people, and really enjoy sharing my passion with kids. Speaking Spanish has opened so many doors for me and I hope to do the same for the kids I work with. Athletics has also been a huge part of my life and to help kids improve themselves is extremely rewarding and enjoyable.

In Costa Rica I was a volunteer teacher at the night school (Liceo Nocturno de Nicoya) where I worked with kids on English pronunciation and spelling. It was a great opportunity to learn more about the people of Costa Rica, while also helping them grow and learn.

Having studied Spanish for 10 years, I have substantial knowledge of the language and many different cultures of Spanish speaking countries. I have studied abroad extensively which has helped me grow with my Spanish speaking ability. Traveling has also helped me grow in understanding of Latin America and the cultures and histories of each location I've lived. Getting to know the people of Latin America has been an incredible experience and has made me fall in love with this region of the world and this beautiful language.

I've been involved with athletics my whole life. Football, lacrosse, swimming, surfing, and basketball are just a few sports that I've practiced throughout my life. Not only have I participated on these sport teams, but I've also coached and run private practice sessions with kids to improve their skills and better their performance in the game.

I want to help students succeed in their academics, but more importantly, grow; in their Spanish speaking skills, athletic abilities, and as people overall. I am excited about helping students establish an appreciation and love for the Spanish language and culture. It has done so much for me and can really benefit everyone in so many different ways.

I welcome any resources or suggestions students or parents can provide. I am easy to reach and always provide fast responses. Feel free to contact me with any additional questions or to schedule a lesson! Can't wait to get started! VAMOS!

Connor’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Washington and Lee University - Bachelor in Arts, Spanish

Hobbies

Surfing, Hiking, Travel, Acting, Singing, Video Editing, Exercise

Tutoring Subjects

Conversational Spanish

Languages

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4