A photo of Holly, a tutor from Oglethorpe University

Holly

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

During the regular school year, I work full-time as a teacher incorporating critical and creative thinking into classrooms, K-6. Prior to becoming a teacher, I had extensive experience tutoring students of all ages, from second grade all the way up to those at the graduate level. I've tutored U.S. History at the elementary, middle, and high school levels; World History at the middle school level; Earth Science and reading at the elementary level; and writing at both the elementary and graduate levels. My favorite subject to both teach and tutor is anything related to history - examining different perspectives and their influence on later decisions is something which I find truly fascinating. I earned a degree in English Literature, with a minor in History, from Oglethorpe University in Atlanta, GA, as well as a Master of Arts in Teaching, with a concentration in early childhood and elementary education, from Pacific University in Eugene, OR. In the future, I hope to teach aspiring teachers in a college of education. Teaching is truly a passion of mine - I believe that students deserve to work with someone who respects and affirms them, helps them develop self-efficacy, and pushes them to reach their potential. To that end, I adapt my teaching methods to fit the student, and always seek to apply what we're learning to real-world situations. In my spare time, I am an avid reader - books about historical events and education are some of my favorites, but I also enjoy popular fiction. I love attending Nats games, although I'm an Atlanta Braves fan at heart, and like to follow various college and pro sports teams, including the Oregon Ducks, Philadelphia Eagles, and Portland Trailblazers. When I can, I try to get outside and stay active as much as possible. A personal goal I have for myself is to run a 5K within the next 6 months.

Holly’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Oglethorpe University - Bachelor in Arts, English Literature (Minor in History)

Graduate Degree: Pacific University - Master of Arts Teaching, Elementary Education

Hobbies

Reading; playing and watching sports (football, baseball, basketball, golf); running; cooking

Tutoring Subjects

History

AP United States History

AP US History

College English

College Essays

College Level American History

Comparative Literature

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

Gifted

High School English

High School Level American History

Literature

Math

Other

Reading

Social studies

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer

Writing