A photo of Caroline, a tutor from University of Virginia-Main Campus

Caroline

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a recent graduate from the University of Virginia where I majored in English Literature and Composition in the College of Arts and Sciences. My interest in tutoring began in high school when I completed volunteer hours for the National, Spanish, and Math Honor Societies by helping my peers in these subjects. When I enrolled at the University of Virginia, I began volunteering in local elementary school classrooms and after school programs. Discovering a love of sharing the joy of learning with students, I added some classes from the Curry School of Education to my course load. I took classes on technology in the classroom, curriculum development, and teaching theory among others and used the skills I learned to teach in summer and Saturday enrichment programs.

I recently moved to Los Angeles and found myself missing the interaction I had with the students I knew while attending UVA, and I am so excited to meet my future pupils! Nothing can beat sharing the joy of learning (especially learning something new for the first time) with someone else. My favorite subjects to tutor are writing and language arts. In my free time I love to go for hikes, swing dance, cook new recipes, read books, and watch movies.

Caroline’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Virginia-Main Campus - Bachelor in Arts, English

Test Scores

ACT English: 34

ACT Reading: 30

SAT Writing: 700

Hobbies

Reading, watching movies, hiking, cooking, dancing

Tutoring Subjects

ACT English

ACT Writing

History

College English

College Essays

College Level American History

Comparative Literature

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

European History

Government

High School English

High School Level American History

Literature

Math

Middle School Math

Other

Reading

SAT Writing and Language

Social studies

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer

Test Prep

Writing