1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Lisa

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Lisa, a tutor from University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

Lisa

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I worked for the University of Michigan Medical School for 26 years as a medical researcher. In 2012, I retired to work in the non-profit sector. I found that I miss the world of academia and the sharing and learning of knowledge. That is the reason I have decided to be a tutor; I wish to share my knowledge and assist the next generation.

Education is the key to a successful future and opens the door to many of life's opportunities. Everyone's learning styles are different. Some people are visual, others are auditory, and yet some are tactile learners. What is important with any teacher and student relationship is connection. My job as a tutor is to connect with each student and understand his/her learning style in order to help him/her learn the subject matter.

Some people find math and physics boring. Yet you cannot get the most out of a kite board without understanding the nature of a wind window and how to place your kite within that window to gain maximum speed. Whether you know it or not, you are using math and physics to get that speed.

This is just one example of how what you learn in school is connected to your everyday life. Everyone needs to be able to read and write a complete sentence to get through each day, just as we need to have a understanding of biology to relate to the world.

My job as a tutor is to understand each student's learning needs and help him/her make that connection with the world. I want every student to become all that they can.

Connect with a tutor like Lisa

Lisa’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay - Bachelor of Science, Biological and Physical Sciences

Graduate Degree: Michigan Technological University - Master of Science, Biological and Physical Sciences

Hobbies

My hobbies include sailing, kayaking, hiking, biking, kite boarding, biking and working out. I also like to draw and read. for the last 30 years I have officiated volleyball, basketball and softball at the high school and college level.

Tutoring Subjects

Academic Coaching

Biology

College Biology

Earth Science

Elementary School

Elementary School English

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

High School Biology

Life Sciences

Math

Middle School English

Middle School Science

Middle School Writing

Nutrition

Other

Science

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Connect with a tutor like Lisa