1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Jean

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Jean, a tutor from Mary Baldwin College


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have been a teacher for a long time. I started substitute teaching even before I finished my Bachelor of Arts in History at Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, Virginia. Growing up in California and New Mexico I learned a lot of Spanish. I took up through Spanish 4 in High School and tested out of Freshman Spanish and was able to take Spanish 2 at Texas Christian University, where I started my college education. I feel quite comfortable working with students in Spanish 1 and 2.
I enjoy working with students helping them to learn new things and better understand new concepts. Sometimes students need extra attention and extra explanation to understand new things. I enjoy taking problems apart to make each part understood so the whole concept can be understood. Often one on one or a small group can take more time to figure things out.
I am married, and have been for almost 50 years to a Presbyterian minister. He is now retired. We
have three adult children and four grandchildren. Because of my husband's career and my father's (construction), I have lived in 12 states and worked with all kinds of people. I am basically retired but I do miss working with students, helping them to reach that "Ah ha" moment when they understand a new concept.

Connect with a tutor like Jean

Jean’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Mary Baldwin College - Bachelor in Arts, History


I have several hobbies that I enjoy. I love to bake and trying new recipes. I also enjoy sewing, knitting, crocheting and quilting. Outdoors, I am into gardening and I play golf regularly with my husband. One of my biggest loves is travelling and have been fortunate to visit all 50 states and about 40 countries around the world.

Tutoring Subjects


High School Government


IB History



Middle School Math

Middle School Social Studies

Social Studies


Spanish 1

Connect with a tutor like Jean