1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Shana

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Shana, a tutor from San Jose State University

Shana

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I love to help people and love to see students learn new things. It's exciting to me to see students master a skill that had been difficult for them in the past. I have enjoyed teaching/tutoring kids and young people from the age of 8 to 16 years of age, and I would love to gain experience teaching language arts skills to adults as well. I have helped many students who are learning English as a second language. I have home tutored elementary through tenth grade students. I've gone from tutoring individually to teaching up to 31 students in a class. I taught 6th grade for 6 years at a middle school. I enjoy tutoring in many subjects, but I tend to like teaching English and language arts the most. Teaching reading and writing are my favorite subjects to teach. I went to college at San Jose State University and San Francisco State University in California. I took lots of general ed, elementary education, creative arts, creative writing, and special education classes. I earned a Bachelor's degree in Creative Arts for teaching and a minor in Creative Writing. I have a California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential, with a supplementary authorization in Art, which is valid for teaching kindergarten through middle school.

Connect with a tutor like Shana

Shana’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: San Jose State University - Bachelor in Arts, Teacher Education, Multiple Levels

Graduate Degree: San Jose State University - Certificate, Teacher Education, Multiple Levels

Hobbies

Other than academic interests, I have 3 cats and 1 dog. Jiji, Latte, and Dutchie are the cats and Dewey is our border collie/lab. I like to walk our dog and take him places, kayak, do yoga and Pilates, write, read, cook, and visit with family and friends.

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

High School Writing

Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Phonics

Science

Special Education

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Shana