1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Elizabeth

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Elizabeth, a tutor from Missouri State University-Springfield

Elizabeth

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of Missouri State University in Springfield, Missouri. I received my Bachelor of Arts in Classical Antiquities (Roman and Greek civilizations) with a minor in Anthropology in 2008 and am expecting to receive my Master of Arts in Teaching in December 2014. In 2011, I received my Missouri teaching certifications for Latin (k-12), Social Studies (9-12), and English (9-12). I worked as a substitute teacher (k-12) for the Springfield R-XII public school system and Springfield Catholic Schools for many different subjects from 2009-2011. I have taught Latin for the past 3 years, and I am currently employed by Rockwood School district to teach Latin and Language Arts. I have tutored students in Latin off and on since 2006, my early students were referred to me by my college professors and, more recently, I have been meeting with my own students before and after school. As a teacher of a world language, I have wide ranging experiences with teaching grammar, social studies, and writing as they pertain to my subject. My favorite subjects to tutor are Latin, Anthropology, and Social Studies because I love to make the parallels, but I have wide ranging experience with many different subjects. I believe that all students can achieve success in classes, but some students need different explanations, approaches, or instructional methods. I have experience working with traditional Latin methods, as well as trying to integrate technology into my methods. I enjoy reading books of all types (my current genre of interest is Young Adult Fiction), playing with my dog, spending time with my family, baking and decorating cakes, and watching Doctor Who.

Connect with a tutor like Elizabeth

Elizabeth’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Missouri State University-Springfield - Bachelor in Arts, Classical Antiquity

Graduate Degree: Missouri State University-Springfield - Master of Arts Teaching, Teaching

Test Scores

ACT English: 30

AP US History: 4

Hobbies

Reading books of all types (my current genre of interest is Young Adult Fiction), playing with my dog, spending time with my family baking and decorating cakes, and watching Doctor Who.

Tutoring Subjects

Anthropology

AP European History

AP Latin

AP United States History

AP US History

College English

College Essays

College Geography

College Level American History

Comparative Literature

English

English Grammar and Syntax

European History

Foreign Language

Geography

High School English

High School Geography

High School Level American History

History

IB Social and Cultural Anthropology

IB Social and Cultural Anthropology HL

Languages

Latin

Latin 1

Latin 2

Latin 3

Latin 4

Literature

Other

Social Sciences

Social studies

Summer

World Religions

Writing


Connect with a tutor like Elizabeth