1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Andrea

Expert online tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Andrea, a tutor from University of Maryland-College Park

Andrea

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hi, there. I'm an experienced tutor who loves the English language and is skilled in teaching students from ages 6 to 60. My areas of tutoring expertise include language arts, English as a Second Language, research, reading, writing, composition, study habits, literature, verbal test prep and the humanities. So often in learning situations, we only hear about what we are doing wrong. That's no way to motivate people! I use a lot of positive feedback, encouragement and praise to show students what they already know and increase their appetite for learning. My goal is to empower students to build both knowledge and strategies to find knowledge. I've helped people of all ages and from all fields improve their reading comprehension and learn to polish their essays, themes, resumes, blogs, business proposals, lab reports and dissertations. If your class or project has a writing or reading component, I can help. I graduated magna cum laude from University of Maryland with a degree in English and I hold a graduate degree from Earlham School of Religion. I worked as a reporter and editor for five years before pursuing a career in pastoral care. I love helping people learn to use our rich language to communicate and build connections and I enjoy being able to impact students' lives in an immediate way.

Connect with a tutor like Andrea

Andrea’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland-College Park - Bachelor in Arts, English

Graduate Degree: Earlham School of Religion - Master of Divinity, Clinical Pastoral Counseling

Hobbies

Reading, dancing, swimming, pets (I have two cats, Loki and the Great Catsby), cooking, writing poetry and essays, movies, volunteer work, spending time with family, spirituality.

Tutoring Subjects

ACCUPLACER WritePlacer Prep

ACT Writing

Adult ESL/ELL

Adult Literacy

American Literature

AP English Language and Composition

AP European History

AP U.S. Government & Politics

College Application Essays

College English

College Geography

College Level American History

College Level American Literature

College Political Science

College World History

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

European History

GED Prep

GED Reasoning Through Language Arts

GED Social Studies

Geography

High School English

High School Level American History

High School Level American Literature

High School World History

High School Writing

History

IB Literature and Performance

Languages

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Philosophy

Phonics

Political Science

Public Speaking

Social Sciences

Social Studies

Spelling Bee

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Test Prep

TOEFL Prep

World History

World Religions

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Andrea