A photo of Chloe, a tutor from Chapman University

Chloe

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am currently a freshman at Chapman University studying Business Administration. My home is in Washington State but my family moved abroad just as I was about to start middle school. I attended an international school in Bogota, Colombia, and graduated from an international high school in Casablanca, Morocco. While attending schools overseas, I got to experience a wide array of cultures and travel extensively.

During my time in Morocco, I worked with and tutored a variety of children from many different backgrounds and ages. I worked at the school's elementary "Homework Club", where students could go after school to receive homework and studying help from high school students. Working in this program led me to realize my passion for helping students succeed in their schooling. Later I became a personal tutor for an incredible middle school student with whom I worked for 2 years.

After moving to California to attend college, I found I still had a strong interest in tutoring and helping other students reach their academic goals. As a daughter of two educators, I am a firm believer in the importance of education for all children and want help other students develop the same appreciation for education. I am interested in all subjects but my favorites include languages ( more specifically French), English literature, social studies and science. I believe in making learning interactive, engaging, and fun! I try to turn a subject that may appear boring into an exciting and enjoyable lesson. My favorite thing about tutoring is watching students grow and see their own progress in their work, and ultimately making a positive change in their study and learning habits.

Aside from tutoring, I enjoy hiking, the beach, reading, yoga and spending time with family and friends!

Chloe’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Chapman University - Bachelors, Business

Test Scores

ACT English: 30

ACT Reading: 32

AP Statistics: 4

AP Statistics: 4

AP Macroeconomics: 4

AP Psychology: 4

Hobbies

Drawing/Painting, Baking, Yoga, Running, Reading, Hiking

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

ESL/ELL

French

French 1

French 2

Languages

Math

Middle School

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Science


Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

My approach to instruction stems from growing up with both parents being educators, as well as my experience tutoring throughout high school. From a young age, I learned from my parents the importance of education. During the times I grew discouraged with my own course work, I found that the one-on-one assistance from my parents allowed me to identify certain unique concepts about particular assignments or genres, concepts that would have otherwise gone unnoticed in the classroom. When I became a tutor, I attempted to achieve the same with my own students, encouraging them to understand their course material on a much more in-depth level than they did in the classroom. Due to the fact that I have worked with diverse learning styles and distinct cultures, I have been able to form concepts about the ways in which individuals process information and perform to their potential. With this, I continually use and adjust my techniques to each student I work with to help them realize that they can achieve their goals and excel in school.