1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Kendal

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Kendal, a tutor from The University of Texas at San Antonio


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hello there! I am Kendal Okosun and I live in Texas. I am a teacher and have two boys who are 10 and 7 years old. I am originally from Cape Town, South Africa, and have visited there many times. Multicultural education is very important to me so I strive to bring different perspectives and experiences into my lessons.

Teaching Philosophy:
I believe learning should be fun, exciting, and challenging! I feel so excited when I get to watch learners overcome skills and concepts that were once challenging for them! I enjoy guiding students to explore skills outside of their comfort zones as well as having them problem solve on their own and in groups. It is important to me to have students write and speak in complete sentences. I am determined to provide a learning environment where students feel comfortable expressing themselves and making mistakes. I believe mistakes are our biggest teachers and strive to provide a safe space for them to do that while engaging with complex reading text and challenging questioning!

- Certified EC - 6th-grade teacher
- Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies
- Master of Education in Curriculum & Instruction; Concentration: Language and Literacy
- 6 years experience teaching all 5th-grade subjects
- 4 years of experience teaching English as a Second Language online

Connect with a tutor like Kendal

Kendal’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: The University of Texas at San Antonio - Bachelor in Arts, Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General

Graduate Degree: Texas Tech University - Masters in Education, Curriculum and Instruction


My hobbies include reading, watching movies, cooking, and dancing. I recently started practicing martial arts. This is WAY outside of my comfort zone, but I enjoy it so much! Being active makes me happy, I love yoga and walking outside!

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School

Elementary School English

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing




Middle School English

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension





Connect with a tutor like Kendal