1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Makayla

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Makayla, a tutor from Macalester College


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My name is Makayla Barker. I have a BA in International studies and Political Science from Macalester College in St. Paul MN. At Macalester, I also minored in French and Economics, and graduated Magna Cum Laude in 2020. While in college I also had the privilege of participating in a study abroad program through the University of Minnesota in Dakar, Senegal, where I spoke French and Wolof 24/7! All this to say, the material is still fresh on my mind! During school I worked as a tutor at the St. Paul public library system and School district, where I with middle school, high school, and college age students. Since then, I have been working in a couple of roles that require qualitative and quantitative research skills and hyper attention to organization and communication, so I am definitely equipped to help with those topics as well. As someone who not long ago a student myself, I understand the struggles that accompany not understanding material and having trouble reaching out to peers and teachers for the extra help students need. I enjoy working with youth, I've been described as personal, polite, and respectful, and thrive on working hard to help my students succeed. On a much more personal level, I love music, spending time outside, and hanging out with my two cats, Dini and Minnie - they might even make a guest appearance in our sessions! I can't wait to get to know you, and look forward to working with you!

Connect with a tutor like Makayla

Makayla’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Macalester College - Bachelor in Arts, Political Science and Government


I love exploring the outdoors in any way possible! For me this usually includes hiking, biking, kayaking, and sometimes skiing or ice skating in the winter. I also love traveling and exploring new areas, especially francophone places outside of the US. Lastly, I spend a lot of time with my two cats, Minnie and Dini.

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Writing


College Economics

Conversational French



French 2

French 3

French 4

High School Economics




Test Prep

Connect with a tutor like Makayla