1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Lorine

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Lorine, a tutor from University of Maryland-University College

Lorine

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hold a Bachelors in English from the University of Maryland, Global Campus (UMGC), a Certificate in TESOL from University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC), and many supplementary courses.

I have experience teaching English, English as a second or other language (TESOL), student success
Classes, life-coaching sessions, and enjoy encouraging and motivating students along the way. Also co-taught Introduction to an Honor's University (UMBC), and was asked every semester to be a motivational speaker by my peers for their student success classes.

In the past two years, I have served as teacher for VIPKid which is based in Beijing. Even though China is 12
hours ahead of my area, I taught English as a second language to children ages 4 to 14, often in the middle of the night!

Although my original certification was to teach adults, I am now also certified to teach children and received additional certifications from VIPKid training.

Additionally, I have a child with learning differences so I have fostered a multi-sensory learning approach for my students. My learning style is 'auditory.' I learn by hearing. Your student may have one main learning style or many.
We will find what it is!

I am a happily married mother of three grown children, and a grandmother to a rambunctious 3-year old, and an amazing 9-mo old. Being a grandparent gives me the utmost joy and I have already begun to teach them to read.

I enjoy the opportunity to utilize my teaching skills from my seventeen years of experience at UMBC mentoring, teaching and coaching the student population from 200+ countries.

When not at work, I spent my days volunteering for community events and centers that foster to ESOL students.

Life has been a wonderful learning experience. I love my career, and I love to help students feel great about themselves!

Faith, family, friends, and students are my joy!

Patience, energy, creativity, and kindness are but a few of my teaching strategies. My strengths are also building rapport in order to get to know your child with sincere understanding and encouragement.

I give my students the place to relax, learn, and gain confidence in learning while having fun. I know how to pace my students for their comfort while I engage active listening, along with effective total physical
response (TPR), fun props, gentle correction, and humor.

The students will walk away feeling seen, heard, and encouraged about what they have learned with me. Students can share their struggles with me and I will be vulnerable in sharing my learning obstacles and what I, myself, have overcome in my own education.

After we find out what your learning-style is and what your tutoring needs are, we will capitalize on your strengths and ease through your weaknesses with an agreed-upon approach that you and your parent are comfortable with.

Cannot wait to meet you, the student, you are what it is all about.

You matter and let's make sure your self-esteem is up where it should be. I believe in you!

Let's learn together!

Regards
Teacher Lorine

Fun fact: Do you like music? Once I memorized the Quadratic Formula by putting the formula to the tune of the song Frere Jacques! I tend to sing some of the lessons for your memory-retention. :-)

Connect with a tutor like Lorine

Lorine’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland-University College - Bachelor in Arts, English

Graduate Degree: University of Maryland-Baltimore - Master of Arts, Teaching English as a Second Language (ESL)

Hobbies

My interests are spending as much time in the great outdoors. Many people suffer from a type of nature-deficit disorder. Nature helps keep me grounded, and in tune with myself as well. Otherwise, I love to read and journal. I attend and serve at a local church and am active in my community. I enjoy swimming, walks along the beach, hiking, biking (mostly with my 3-year old grandson!), listening to music (and my husband who plays the steel-pan...(as well as has a train room - choo choo ;-)) I also enjoy singing and acting. I was a member of the Harbor City Chorus, UMBC's Russian Chorus, and several church choirs and praise-teams over the years. I have a Jack Russell named Phoebe; two Russian Blue cats, and a yard full of squirrels, bunnies and birds (hubby is retired from a 20 year Naval career so now he's a bird-watcher ;-) I look forward to meeting you soon!

Tutoring Subjects

Adult ESL/ELL

Adult Literacy

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Learning Differences

Other

Reading

Special Education

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Lorine