1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Sherry

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Sherry, a tutor from Missouri State University-Springfield

Sherry

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My professional life has always been about education. I started my teaching career at the High School level, teaching Speech, Theater and English. I continue at the Community College level and then on to the University level. Along the way I added to my Bachelor of Science in Education with two Masters of Arts, one in Theater and one in Communication. I finished my teaching in front of a classroom career at Missouri University of Science and Technology teaching Public Speaking. I knew that I was not quite finished with education as a career. I decided that I needed to find another way to use my teaching talents. I began to realize that tutoring could be a good fit for my teaching expertise. I believed that working on a one to one or small group situation would be a good fit for me. I wanted to reach students that had a need to become readers and to understand the process of writing not only a good sentence but a good paragraph.

Reading is a key to all other types of learning. If a person can read and comprehend, it will open many doors in their future. Many times I told my daughters that if you can read and enjoy doing so, you will always have a friend and will never be lonely. This is my hope for all my tutoring students.

Connect with a tutor like Sherry

Sherry’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Missouri State University-Springfield - Bachelor of Education, Speech Teacher Education

Graduate Degree: Southern Illinois University Edwardsville - Master of Arts, Communication, General

Hobbies

I enjoy reading, visiting with friends, and spending time with my family. I try to walk at least 3-4 days a week and am looking forward to feeling comfortable going back to the gym. I also enjoy watching and going to Cardinal games.

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Level American Literature

High School Writing

Literature

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Public Speaking

Reading

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Sherry