1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Susan

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Susan, a tutor from West Texas State University

Susan

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have been a paid tutor almost every year since I was in 3rd-grade fractions. Even when I was a child, parents and teachers recognized I had a gift for figuring out where another student's thinking went astray and for devising a way to correct the problem. I am aware that everyone learns differently, and I have great patience to determine what the student's learning style is and what techniques work best for that person. Many people have told me that I was the best tutor they ever had. Even when I have a full-time programming job, I always find someone to tutor in some subject. It's what I do best, and it makes me feel like I am improving someone else's life.

I am currently starting a new business writing mobile apps for iPhone/iPad.

I have a Masters in Math and a Masters in Geophysics. My Bachelor's is in Math, and I have the equivalent to a Bachelor's in Computer Science. I also have 5 Associate degrees: Spanish, International Language, Mobile Computing, Web Development, and Computer Programming. I lack one or two courses having an Associate in English. I should be the poster child for life-long learning.

My GRE score in math was 770 when it was on an 800 scale.

I have 15 years' experience programming computers and 14 years doing tech work and training individuals to use their computers and Office products like Word and Excel, as well as QuickBooks accounting package. I taught college Calculus for 4 years, college Algebra and Computer Concepts for 3 years, college computer language classes for 7 years, and high school math and computer science for 2 1/2 years. I tutored for Oxford Learning Center for 1 1/2 years: ACT/SAT prep and homework support, mostly high school math, English, and Spanish. I have tutored on my own for 30+ years on any subject that I knew how to do, mostly math and computer science. I'm pretty fluent in Spanish, and I love to teach it. I'm a photographer, so I'm great at Photoshop and Lightroom, and I like to play with Illustrator. I also can tutor Physics, Physical Science, and English, especially English for non-native speakers.

I've tutored a lot of students for SAT and ACT prep and a few of the other standardized tests. I can teach all parts of the exam, but I'm best at math, and I can usually gain the most overall points in math because, let's face it, a person's vocabulary is not going to increase a extensively in the few remaining months before they take the exam, and that's the key to a good score in Reading or English.

I've taught classroom math (pre-Algebra through Calculus II) and computer science in both high school and college. I have an Oklahoma Teaching Certificate in Intermediate and Advanced Math, Computer Science, Earth Science, Physics, Physical Science, Spanish, English, English as a Second Language, and Mild/Moderate Disabilities.

I enjoy teaching college students, adults who want to learn so they can help their kids learn, and high school kids. I am good with middle school students if they really want to learn, and I'm good with gifted or highly motivated elementary students. I am also quite good with any age person who speaks another language but wants to learn English.

I home-schooled my oldest son 4th-8th grade in all subjects because teachers and psychologists didn't believe in his ability to learn; he has Asperger's form of autism, ADD/ADHD, and a severe visual processing disorder. His teacher in 4-year-olds and a pediatrician both said he'd never learn to read, and the pediatrician and a psychologist both said he'd never be able to leave home or to put him in a group home. His SAT scores: a perfect 800 Reading, 700 Math, and 790 Writing, and he was his school's first National Merit Scholar Finalist based on his PSAT scores. I can't take all the credit for that, but I'm sure that at least part of it is due to my tutoring.

I am uniquely qualified to tutor students with learning differences and have the patience and talent to do so (besides my son, I have taught two mentally challenged girls to read and tutored College Algebra and Spanish to students through the Disabled Student Resource Center at Tulsa Community College, including one student who was deaf, two were blind, one had cerebral palsy, and one had a brain injury).

For 4 years from 4th to 8th-grade, I tutored two homeschooled brothers in middle school so that they could be in a high-level tennis program. The younger one initially had some serious problems with English (it was not his first language) and with study skills and test-taking. Within a year, his scores in all subjects had come up above average, and by the next year, he was above 85% in every subject.

I don't give up when I hear someone says that teaching someone something is hopeless, and I don't let my students give up or their parents.

I live to see that lightbulb go on in a student.

Connect with a tutor like Susan

Susan’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: West Texas State University - Bachelor of Science, Mathematics

Graduate Degree: University of Tulsa - Master of Science, Applied Mathematics

Hobbies

I live to learn new things. I am almost always taking some class somewhere. I became fluent in Spanish after the age of 40. I’ve taken a lot of digital media courses. I have taken practically every computer class the local community college has, and have 5 Associates’ degrees to show for it after I already had my two Masters’ degrees. My most recent hobby is photography. I like to play with photos in Photoshop and turn them into works of art that often look nothing like what they started out as. I have won a number of awards at the State Fair, and I had one Photoshop composition accepted in a professional showing. If you’d like to see my better photos, ask me for the link to my 500px account. I also enjoy playing with Illustrator. I enjoy doing all kinds of art. I have done a lot of clay construction and sculpting as well as using the potter’s wheel. I’ve done oil painting, but they can take weeks to dry. I plan to try acrylic painting next. They dry a lot faster. I’d also like to do some wood turning and other kinds of wood-working. The hobby I spend the most time on is gardening. I live on a 3/4-acre lot in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and pride myself on having the prettiest flower gardens in the neighborhood. After COVID and the grocery store vegetable shortages, I started cleaning up my dad’s old veggie garden to grow my own vegetables. I didn’t have a lot of luck except with the okra and I harvested a few nice honey dew melons along with a few tomatoes and several very small ears of corn. A hoard of killer bunnies ate all my cabbages, too much rain caused fungus to kill my pumpkins, squashes, and melons, and tiny white fly-like bugs ate holes in my tomato and okra plants. However, I learned a tremendous amount and lost 35 pounds in the process. I am feeling great with the weight loss and all the exercise, and next year, I think I can avoid some of the things that went wrong this year. Actually, the herb garden did pretty well. I had lots of cilantro in spite of the bunnies’ continually stealing it, and plenty of parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme (hey, that reminds me of a Simon and Garfunkel song), and of course, my favorite, basil. I love computer programming and all things tech. I actually write code just for the fun and challenge of it. When I was younger, I was a very competitive amateur tennis player. I didn’t start until I was an adult, but I won a number of local and state tournaments. I’d like to start playing again. I love to play old-time fiddle. I’m not very good, but I entered the contests at the fairs anyway. It’s fun to meet other people who enjoy making music. I like listening to folk music and some of the old hippie songs. My favorite singer is John Denver, but I like Simon and Garfunkel as well as Bread. I also like Barbara Streisand. I love classic movies and classic books (odds are I have read whatever book your English teacher has assigned). My favorite author is Jorge Borges, a 20th century Argentinian philosopher and writer of Spanish poems and short stories, although I love Shakespeare, whom I consider to be the best writer who ever lived. My favorite novel is A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. My favorite color is violet. My favorite movie is Star Wars, the original, which is now called #4. I enjoy most of the various series of Star Trek, especially TNG and Picard. I have two sons; one is working on his PhD in Philosophy at Bowling Green State in Ohio, and the other just graduated from high school and is attending Tulsa Community College here in town. I have two dogs. Zack is a toy fox terrier, and he is getting rather old. Allie is a standard Pomeranian, but she is quite large for her breed (during her puppyhood, I was starting to have flashbacks involving Clifford, the Big Red Dog). I’m currently keeping my younger son’s dog, Delilah, who is a small-pony-sized Siberian husky. She keeps escaping from her pen and running roughshod over my veggie garden. She even broke down the garden’s fence post, and yanked down my prize honey dew melon from its vine and started pushing it around with her nose like a soccer ball and gouged it with her teeth. She was literally and figuratively in the dog house for days after that. Genealogy is probably my favorite passion. It’s interesting to see where you come from and to find out that maiden name of your great-great-great grandfather’s wife that has alluded generations of genealogists. With computerized records, I can find things that my great Aunt Sadie never had access to in her years of traveling to discover her own roots. I enjoy corresponding with distant relatives whom I didn’t know existed in order to try to solve some mystery. I really love it when I find a story about someone; then I get to know what my ancestor was really like, which is the most fun of all.

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algorithms

C

C#

C++

English

ESL/ELL

Finite Mathematics

High School Physics

College Math

Java

Learning Differences

Math

Other

PHP

Physics

Programming Languages

Python

Science

Special Education

SQL

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Technology and Computer Science

Connect with a tutor like Susan