1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Emily

Expert online tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Emily, a tutor from University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus

Emily

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I have a B.S in Biological Sciences from the University of Pittsburgh am currently pursing my Ph.D in Molecular Biology at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. I have an extensive background in biology and related areas including genetics, molecular biology, and evolution. Additionally, I have an academic background in math and I minored in Spanish in college.

My experience with tutoring has been both formal and informal, beginning with helping younger siblings and friends with homework. In college I was an undergraduate teaching assistant for an Introduction to Genetics course.

Over the past 4 years during my PhD I have formally tutored math and science of various levels, culminating in at 200 hours of lessons.

I have experience tutoring elementary science, and high school biology/chemistry, as well as college level biology courses. I also have experience tutoring elementary, middle, and high school math. I particularly enjoy tutoring geometry and algebra I.

I believe in one-on-one tutoring sessions tailored to the student's learning style and specific needs. In my sessions, I help with homework assignments, test preparation, and starting from the basics on particular concepts that a student is struggling with.

I am endlessly curious and love learning about the living world around us. As a scientist, I am passionate about science communication and enjoy helping others understand scientific concepts.

Connect with a tutor like Emily

Emily’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus - Bachelor of Science, Biology, General

Graduate Degree: Johns Hopkins University - Doctor of Philosophy, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Test Scores

GRE: 330

GRE Verbal: 168

GRE Analytical Writing: 4.5

Hobbies

In my free time, I like playing with my golden retriever, painting, and hanging out at the beach with my family.

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Prep

ACT English

ACT Math

ACT Reading

ACT Science

ACT Writing

Algebra

Algebra 2

AP Biology

Biochemistry

Biology

Chemistry

College Biology

College Chemistry

Conversational Spanish

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Science

GED Prep

GED Math

GED Reasoning Through Language Arts

GED Science

GED Social Studies

Geometry

Graduate Test Prep

GRE Analytical Writing

GRE Verbal

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

ISEE Prep

ISEE- Lower Level

ISEE- Middle Level

ISEE- Primary

ISEE-Lower Level Mathematics Achievement

ISEE-Lower Level Quantitative Reasoning

ISEE-Lower Level Verbal Reasoning

ISEE-Lower Level Writing

ISEE-Middle Level Mathematics Achievement

ISEE-Middle Level Quantitative Reasoning

ISEE-Middle Level Reading Comprehension

ISEE-Middle Level Verbal Reasoning

ISEE-Middle Level Writing

ISEE-Upper Level Writing

Languages

Life Sciences

Math

Middle School Math

Middle School Science

PARCC Prep

Pre-Algebra

Science

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Test Prep

Trigonometry

Connect with a tutor like Emily