1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Lauren

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Lauren, a tutor from Calvin College

Lauren

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a fourth-generation teacher, so it's safe to say that my passion for teaching runs in the family. I have tutored or taught almost without interruption for the past decade, starting as an undergraduate tutor at Calvin College and continuing to my current position as a TA at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, where I'm working on a PhD in Linguistics. As an undergrad, I tutored in psychology, world history, religion, and mathematics. While working on my master's degree at the University of Nottingham, I taught test-prep classes for the TOEFL. After finishing my MA, I taught history, TOEFL, Academic English, and more in a Chinese high school. My primary area of interest is language, having studied Chinese and German as an undergraduate and Applied- and General Linguistics as a graduate student. But the beautiful thing about studying language as a phenomenon is that it opens the door for you to investigate just about anything else, since every aspect of human life involves language use. This deep curiosity about the world is what drives my desire for education, and it's something I strive to pass on to my students. When my brain needs a break, though, I also enjoy long walks in the woods, baking, and playing tennis.

Connect with a tutor like Lauren

Lauren’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Calvin College - Bachelor in Arts, Chinese Studies

Graduate Degree: University of Nottingham - Master of Arts, Applied Linguistics

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 33

ACT English: 33

ACT Math: 34

ACT Reading: 36

SAT Verbal: 770

SAT Writing: 700

GRE Verbal: 168

Hobbies

Music/singing, reading, baking, horseback riding, tennis, language learning

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Reading

Adult ESL/ELL

Algebra

College Application Essays

Conversational German

Conversational Mandarin

English

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

German

German 1

German 2

Graduate Test Prep

GRE Verbal

Languages

Mandarin Chinese

Mandarin Chinese 1

Mandarin Chinese 2

Math

Other

Public Speaking

SAT Reading

Test Prep

TOEFL Prep

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Lauren