A photo of Melissa, a tutor from Providence College

Melissa

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

After graduating from Providence College with a BA in Elementary and Special Education, I went on to teach special education in a self-contained classroom serving students from K-6 with a variety of mild to moderate disabilities. After two years teaching within that setting, I taught in a grade 4 and grade 5 inclusion setting, as well as provided pull-out resource services to students in grades K-2. I currently teach grade 5 inclusion in Fall River, Massachusetts. In my 10 years of teaching experience, I have been able to deepen my content knowledge, hone my skills, and improve my ability to design and deliver creative, engaging, and context-based lessons to students with and without disabilities. My success is proven by my students' performance data. I am also a Teacher Leader in my school, facilitating team meetings with my colleagues as well as delivering professional development. I have had experience tutoring students in both Math and ELA to prepare them for state testing. These tutoring opportunities have been with small groups of students as well as on a one-on-one basis. The resources I pull into my teaching and tutoring sessions speak volumes of my creativity and of my ability to relate to students and provide them the opportunity to learn and grow.

Melissa’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Providence College - Bachelor in Arts, Elementary School Teaching

Graduate Degree: University of Scranton - Master of Science, Curriculum and Instruction

Hobbies

Besides teaching and learning, I enjoy running and playing tennis. I am family-oriented, and visit my family on Long Island whenever I get the chance. My adventure gene sends me traveling to new places and I am always willing to try out a new restaurant. I am a huge animal lover and have had my 9-year-old dog, Ruca, since she was a pup.

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

ISEE Prep

ISEE- Lower Level

Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing

Other

Phonics

PRAXIS Prep

Special Education

SSAT Prep

SSAT- Elementary Level

Test Prep