A photo of Christie, a tutor from University of California-Berkeley

Christie

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

A mantra for my own education is to retrieve knowledge through higher education that others can apply to change their lifestyle and improve their quality of life. This is one of the reasons I am a pre-health student with an aim for a career as a Physician's Assistant. Tutoring students is directly related to my mantra and passion to educate. I am very eager to apply the lessons learned through high school and two years at Cal to help a student excel in any material. Because both of my parents are teachers (one high school-level and one university-level), I have both observed their teaching methods in the classroom and have received their teaching. I have had the opportunity to communicate through difficult concepts with them, evaluate methods, and test approaches occasionally with my own tutees. I have taught the English language, a subject I am very familiar with, to primary school students in Japan as well as have explained how polarizability benefits SN2 nucleophiles to a university peer a few days after learning it. These varying degrees of familiarity in subject material have helped me to practice recalling material on the spot to then explain it to a student. These different experiences have trained me to meet each student where they are.

My schedule of availability begins on July 18 and until mid-August I am free from Monday through Saturday beginning at 8 AM and Sunday after 1 PM. I can work up to 30 hours/week.

I look forward to working with you as a tutor!
Christie Matsumoto

Christie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of California-Berkeley - Bachelors, Molecular and Cell Biology (Intended)

Test Scores

ACT English: 35

ACT Math: 31

ACT Reading: 32

SAT Math: 710

SAT Mathematics Level 2: 710

Hobbies

Bible studies, soccer

Tutoring Subjects


Q & A

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In my first session with a student, I would get to know them and what they are having a difficult time with. I would be a keen listener to understand what they need before attempting to explain something to them.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

To keep a student motivated, I believe that constant encouragement and positive commentary on their work is essential. I would support the student and bring insight about the significance of the subject material.