1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Ben

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Ben, a tutor from Wheaton College (Illinois)

Ben

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hi! My name is Ben. English is my native language, though I grew up in Prague, Czech Republic, and have lived in China and West Africa. Having studied several foreign languages and taught English internationally, I understand why people have problems learning English. In Prague I learned Czech, and studied Spanish and German. I received my B.A. in Anthropology from Wheaton College, where I also studied French. I spent a semester in Ghana, West Africa, studying regional languages and culture. After college I volunteered as an English tutor in Nashville, Tennessee. After that I moved to China and worked at Nanjing Medical University for three years, teaching Spoken English, English Writing, and American/Western Culture, while studying Mandarin on the side.

Tutoring is one of the most satisfying things I've done. I take an interest in my students, and it's important to me to see them succeed. Helping them reach an understanding of something new, or of something they used to struggle with, really makes me feel great. Everyone is differentwith a different cultural background, personality, and learning style. I enjoy getting to know each one of my students, and I use a variety of methods and tools to help them understand and make progress.

Connect with a tutor like Ben

Ben’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Wheaton College (Illinois) - Bachelors, Cultural Anthropology

Hobbies

Playing Irish music, riding my bike, travel, foreign languages, playing sports in the rain, activities with friends, hiking, camping, thrift store and garage sale shopping

Tutoring Subjects

College English

College Level American History

College World History

Conversational Spanish

English

ESL/ELL

European History

High School English

High School Level American History

High School World History

History

Languages

Social studies

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

World History


Connect with a tutor like Ben