A photo of Merna, a tutor from Christopher Newport University

Merna

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I'm currently a graduate student at George Mason University in Virginia studying Environmental Science and Policy. I have tutored middle school and high school students in the past in Math (specifically Algebra) and English for ESL students. In addition, because of my academic background in Biology and Ecology, I'm interested in tutoring these subjects as well. Finally, I have basic background in Spanish from different courses and thesis work that I'm currently working on in Peru. From that, I feel confident in tutoring Spanish level one. I have also worked with non-students as well who had interest in specific subjects. I'm open to help tutor all ages.

All of my courses that I'm taking at GMU are in the evening; therefore, I'm available Monday - Friday from 9am - 3pm. I'm also available on the weekends and can be flexible on those days.

Merna’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Christopher Newport University - Bachelors, Biology, General

Graduate Degree: George Mason University - Current Grad Student, Environmental Science and Policy

Hobbies

Photography, hiking, and swimming

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Arabic

Biology

College Algebra

College Biology

College English

Ecology

English

Environmental Science

ESL/ELL

High School Biology

High School English

Languages

Math

Pre-Algebra

Science

Spanish 1


Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

Every student has a different way of learning and understanding. I find it very useful to understand these preferred ways to communicate better with the students and engage them.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

Learn more about their learning/studying habits, their weaknesses and strengths, and their career goals/passions.