A photo of Stephanie, a tutor from Univeristy of Texas at San Antonio

Stephanie

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated from the University of Texas at San Antonio in 2007 with a Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice/Forensic Science. I have been tutoring since 2006. My tutoring experience includes students from grade levels kindergarten through freshman college. The subjects I have tutored include reading comprehension, basic math and algebra, chemistry, and physics. I also have been hired as a study coach which involves teaching study skills, time management, and organization. My favorite subjects to tutor are the hard sciences-- chemistry and physics. My professor in college made chemistry extremely interesting, so I found the subject easy to learn. However, I am passionate about every student I take on, regardless of the subject. I consider it is my personal responsibility to make sure the students achieve their main goals. If necessary, I take the initiative to contact my student's teacher(s) in order to have a better understanding of their situation. Basically, my teaching style is to tailor my lesson plans according to the student's learning style (audio, visual, kinetic). For example, for children with special needs, I believe the best way to reach them is by staying flexible and allowing the student some leeway when he/she is experiencing a problem related to their disability. Some of my personal hobbies include reading, volunteering, riding horses, being outdoors, and spending time with family.

Stephanie’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Univeristy of Texas at San Antonio - Bachelor in Arts, Criminal Justice/Forensic Science

Hobbies

Some of my hobies are riding horses, camping, fishing, reading, learning, networking, and gernerally being outdoors.

Tutoring Subjects

1st Grade Reading

2nd Grade Reading

4th Grade Reading

5th Grade Reading

Algebra

Art

College English

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

English

Handwriting

High School English

Math

Middle School Math

Other

Pre-Algebra

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization