A photo of Jessica, a tutor from UC-Berkeley

Jessica

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I'm a PhD candidate in Political Science with extensive tutoring and teaching experience.

I have expertise in any verbal subject, including ESL, reading (comprehension, analysis; all levels), writing (creative, persuasive, expository, etc; all levels), GRE Verbal or Writing, SAT Verbal or Writing, vocabulary, and grammar. I'm also qualified to tutor social studies, including AP Government. I've worked with all ages, from elementary-aged children to adults, and enjoy each age group.

I have a proven track record of helping students exceed their goals. While teaching ESL to adults abroad, several students commented that I was the most professional instructor the Program had had in recent memory, and all of my forty-four students felt more confident using English. Similarly, as a tutor with the Community College Foundation, all of my students exceeded their goals (as demonstrated by entrance-exit evaluations).

My teaching philosophy is simple: get to know the student - her strengths, challenges, and goals. Present the material in ways that appeal to her strengths. Along the way, lead by asking questions and by example. Recognize achievements and progress.

I have a unique ability to collaborate with students to determine their needs and help them meet their goals. As a PhD candidate and Teaching Assistant, I will bring professionalism, excellent study skills, and strong experience in pedagogy to the job. I look forward to discussing in more detail how I can help you (or your child) succeed.

On a personal note, I am well-rounded and can talk to just about anyone, about anything. I enjoy reading, movies, cuisine, swimming, biking, walking, current events, and travel. I spend as much time as possible with my friends, family, boyfriend, and rescue kitty. I'm originally from San Francisco, and I love my City by the Bay.

Jessica’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: UC-Berkeley - Bachelor in Arts, Political Science and Government

Graduate Degree: San Francisco State University - Master of Arts, Political Science and Government

Test Scores

GRE Verbal: 162

GRE Analytical Writing: 5.5

Hobbies

Literature, movies, current events, friends/family, biking, swimming, cooking, scrapbooking.

Tutoring Subjects

12th Grade Reading

12th Grade Writing

Adult Literacy

History

AP United States History

AP US History

College English

College Essays

College Geography

College Level American History

Creative Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

Geography

Graduate Test Prep

GRE Analytical Writing

GRE Verbal

High School English

High School Geography

High School Level American History

High School Writing

Other

Political Science

Public Speaking

Reading

Social Sciences

Social studies

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Summer

Vocabulary

Writing