1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Linda

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Linda, a tutor from UNC Chapel Hill


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Science is awesome! I have 30 plus years teaching physics and astronomy in public higher education. I believe wholeheartedly in access and affordability to education for all Americans. Most of the students I teach in my current public university are first-generation college students.

Although my experience is with students 18 years or older, I also enjoy teaching and mentoring younger children from 1st grade through high school. I have tutored math (algebra and calculus) online to all ages, and worked with youth in science camps for science outreach.

My educational background includes:
PhD in Physics from University of Virginia, where I worked on an experimental cosmology project.
MS in Physics from Carnegie-Mellon University, where I learned a lot about experimental particle physics.
BS in Physics with Honors from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where Iearned my honors working with dangerous chemicals in a darkroom in order to complete a solid-state physics experiment.

I enjoy working most with students who want to go beyond their homework question, and ask a lot of questions. Students very rarely ask dumb questions, and I learn a lot by hearing what students want to understand.

I especially enjoy mentoring science projects and research. Students very rarely ask dumb questions.

I also have helped students with software and programming, such as Excel, Python and R.

Connect with a tutor like Linda

Linda’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: UNC Chapel Hill - Bachelor of Science, Physics

Graduate Degree: University of VA Charlottesville - Doctor of Philosophy, Physics


My outside interests include pets --mostly dogs and cats. I like to learn about veterinary science, as well as pet personality. I enjoy gardening and farming, although my yard isn't large enough to grow lots of crops. I work from my basement, so you can probably see parts of my workshop in my picture. I have lots of power and hand tools to work with wood and metal. I also have an area for electronics projects. Crocheting and reading/writing are my other interests. You can probably tell I am mostly an introvert, but I do enjoy conversations and coffee with a small group of friends.

Tutoring Subjects


Algebra 1

Algebra 2

Algebra 3

AP Physics 1

AP Physics 2

AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism

AP Physics C: Mechanics



College Algebra

College Physics

High School Physics





Connect with a tutor like Linda