1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like LaYow

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of LaYow, a tutor from Washington University in St Louis

LaYow

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a rising sophomore at Washington University in St. Louis majoring in biochemistry and minoring in anthropology and french, and it is my dream one day to become an oncologist (a doctor who treats and researches cancer)!

In the past, I have assisted teachers in their classrooms as a "teacher aid" by answering questions and explaining concepts to students one-on-one. Furthermore, I plan on working as a calculus tutor leader for incoming freshmen next semester at my university.

I am extremely passionate about teaching students and helping them reach their full potential because education is not "one size fits all" and neither is learning. My teaching philosophy is that every student learns and understands concepts differently. Therefore, my goal is to not only personalize learning by listening and responding to each student, but I also want to help students discover their style of learning and how to maximize it for the future.

I tutor all the basic sciences up to the AP and SAT 2 level(Chemistry, Biology, and Physics); Mathematics (up to Calculus III/Multivariable Calculus); French and Chinese up to the AP level; and SAT. My favorite subjects to tutor are French, Chinese, Biology, and Physics, because these are the subjects I am still the most passionate about to this day.

In my spare time, I love playing the ukulele, experimenting with cooking, and playing ultimate frisbee.

Connect with a tutor like LaYow

LaYow’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Washington University in St Louis - Bachelor of Science, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Test Scores

SAT Mathematics Level 2: 800

SAT Subject Test in Biology E/M: 800

SAT Subject Test in Physics: 800

SAT Subject Test in Physics: 800

Hobbies

I love playing ultimate frisbee (I played on a team for 4 years in high school), singing and playing the ukulele, dancing hip-hop (it's a great workout!), and baking/cooking everything from chocolate croissant to chickpea stew.

Tutoring Subjects

AP Biology

Biology

College Physics

Conversational French

Conversational Mandarin

French

French 1

French 2

French 3

French 4

High School Biology

High School Physics

Languages

Mandarin Chinese

Mandarin Chinese 2

Mandarin Chinese 3

Mandarin Chinese 4

Physics

SAT Subject Test in Chinese with Listening

SAT Subject Test in Physics

SAT Subject Tests Prep

Science

Test Prep

Connect with a tutor like LaYow