A photo of Dustin, a tutor from SUNY College at Brockport

Dustin

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am currently a graduate student at the University at Buffalo working on my PhD in mathematics. Before this, I obtained my master's degree from the College at Brockport, at which I spent the following two semesters teaching math courses to college students. While at the College at Brockport I spent three semesters as a math tutor in their Student Learning Center, as part of a graduate assistantship, tutoring courses such as Algebra,Precalculus, Single Variable Calculus, Multi-Variable Calculus, Statistics, and various other courses. I have also tutored students at the University at Buffalo as part of a teaching assistantship. My favorite subjects to tutor are calculus, trigonometry, and algebra. I've taught calculus courses at the college level multiple times, and I thoroughly enjoyed it each time.

I believe that understanding how students learn mathematics is essential to teaching and tutoring mathematics. There are many different forms of teaching. I feel that I'm a great tutor because I try to understand how each student learns and then shape my instruction in such a way that will promote that student's understanding. I am always looking for new strategies to help captivate the interest of the students I instruct and tutor in order to help better foster learning. Learning mathematics is a process that requires active involvement, both from the tutor and the student. I continually strive to help all students reach their full potential.

Dustin’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: SUNY College at Brockport - Bachelors, Mathematics

Graduate Degree: SUNY College at Brockport - Masters, Mathematics

Graduate Degree: University at Buffalo - PHD, Mathematics

Hobbies

I enjoy biking, hiking, and camping, as well as going to the gym. I also like watching movies.

Tutoring Subjects

10th Grade Math

11th Grade Math

12th Grade Math

7th Grade Math

8th Grade Math

9th Grade Math

ACT Math

Algebra

Algebra 2

Algebra 3/4

Calculus

Calculus 2

Calculus 3

College Algebra

Discrete Math

Geometry

Math

Multivariable Calculus

Pre-Algebra

Pre-Calculus

SAT Math

SAT Mathematics

Statistics

Test Prep

Trigonometry