1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Alan

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Alan, a tutor from University of Massachusetts Amherst


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I believe that working with a tutor is a sign of a strong commitment to learning and a willingness to persevere in the face of obstacles. It is a privilege and passion of mine to help students discover the inspiration and confidence within themselves to achieve anything. My flexible and holistic approach to tutoring accommodates each individual student's learning style, imparts a growth mindset, and encourages an innate love of learning.

I graduated from the University of Massachusetts Amherst with a bachelor's degree in elementary education. I am currently pursuing a dual master's degree in childhood and special education (grades 1-6) at Touro College and plan on teaching in elementary schools. I most enjoy working with these ages in all core academic areas. I also tutor reading, writing, and Spanish at the secondary level. Literacy skills are essential, as students need them to understand all content they are taught. Furthermore, I focus on teaching study and organization skills so students can become independent learners.

I have constantly supplemented my studies with invaluable classroom and tutoring experience. During my junior year of college, I was a teacher's assistant in a fifth grade classroom and tutored multiple students in all subjects. I was also an intern in a New York City charter school where I tutored and taught second grade students individually and in groups. My favorite job has been working at Sunrise Day Camp, a camp for children with cancer and their siblings. Here, I have been a supervisor and, most recently, taught creative writing to children aged 3-18 who come from many different backgrounds.

Currently, I work as a teaching assistant at the Columbus Avenue School, a kindergarten in Freeport, NY. I have provided one-to-one instructional and behavioral support to multiple students with behavioral and learning disabilities as well as taught lessons in English and Spanish. My favorite part about being an educator is creating strong relationships with students and seeing them develop into bright and compassionate individuals.

In my spare time, I love playing and listening to all kinds of music, watching basketball, reading poems and novels, and watching movies.

Connect with a tutor like Alan

Alan’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Massachusetts Amherst - Bachelor in Arts, Elementary School Teaching


My main hobby is playing, writing, and listening to music of multiple genres. I also love watching movies and sports, especially basketball. I've always enjoyed reading and started to write poetry in college.

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing


Essay Editing



Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Writing






Spanish 1

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization


Connect with a tutor like Alan