1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Emily

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Emily, a tutor from Providence College


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My love for teaching began in the basement of my childhood home. I would call my little brother, my little sister, and all my stuffed animals down the stairs and set up my classroom. It was a very simple classroom with just a few chairs and a small chalkboard easel, but it ignited my passion for teaching and guiding students. Lessons have come a long way, from practicing letters and words on that easel to solving complex math problems, but that passion still remains.

I graduated from Providence College with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology. I concentrated my studies in Anatomy and Mathematics while in the Pre-Med program. I started tutoring the beginning of my Sophomore year in college, and have loved it ever since. My tutoring experience ranges from middle school level up to college level Biology and Mathematics. My two favorite subjects to tutor are general biology and algebra because both are like puzzles. The pieces of the problem all have to fit in order to see the correct answer. When I am tutoring, my goal is to meet the student where they are. This involves investigating where the student may be struggling or need guidance and building a foundation from there.

Even though I love homework, I have many interests outside of academia. I love to do anything outdoors, from running to hiking to swimming in the ocean. I grew up playing hockey, and I continue to play today.

Connect with a tutor like Emily

Emily’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Providence College - Bachelors, Biology/Pre-Med


I love to do anything outdoors! Running, hiking, playing hockey are a few of my favorites. I enjoy cooking and trying out new recipes.

Tutoring Subjects


Algebra 2

Algebra 3/4



College Algebra

College Biology

High School Biology




Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

My teaching philosophy is grounded in the belief that education is a unique experience for every single student. When I am tutoring, I investigate where the student is struggling and meet them at that point. I work to break down material and then build it back up to strengthen the student's depth of knowledge. One of the best ways for a student to learn and retain information is to teach it back.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

In the first session with a student, I always try and get to know them outside of the subject matter we are about to work on. Finding a common ground or mutual interests allows me to connect with the student and form a relationship. I would then investigate where the student is struggling and meet them there.

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

In order for a student to become an independent learner, it is important for the student to find their own mistakes. A student will learn more when they can find their own mistakes and explaining why it is wrong, rather than a teacher jumping in immediately to correct it.

How would you help a student stay motivated?

In order to help a student stay motivated, I would first try and connect with them on a common interest outside of their schoolwork. Getting to know a student on a more personal level allows the tutor to find a common ground to refer back to. Moreover, I would help the student set small goals/make a checklist for themselves in order to visualize their progress.

If a student has difficulty learning a skill or concept, what would you do?

I would find out where the student is struggling and build a foundation from there. When you meet the student where they struggle, you can work on steps to increase understanding.

Connect with a tutor like Emily