A photo of Leah, a tutor from Brown University

Leah

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a junior at Brown University pursuing a degree in Politics, Philosophy, and Economics. After I graduate, I intend to enroll in an MD/PhD program in bioethics or health policy. In the past, I have tutored students between ages 10 and 19 in Political Science, Algebra II/Trigonometry, English as a Second Language, and sixth grade English and Math. I decided to become a tutor because my math tutor (from 8th-12th grades) took me from hating math to enjoying and succeeding in it. I want to help others make that same transition--a bad teacher or tough class can crush a student's innate curiosity, but a good tutor can restore it.

I currently tutor students in the social and biological sciences (elementary school through college level), reading and writing, and in standardized test preparation. I am also an avid debater, and coach debate at a high school in Providence, RI. When I am not tutoring, I enjoy creative writing, singing, painting, horseback riding, skiing, hiking, and traveling. My dream is to one day practice medicine in the developing world, but I also hope to pursue a career in academia (a la Paul Farmer.)

I look forward to speaking with you!

Leah’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Brown University - Bachelor in Arts, Politics, Philosophy, and Economics; Pre-med

Test Scores

SAT Writing: 800

Hobbies

horseback riding, creative writing, visual art, debate, traveling, skiing, running, singing, political theory, development studies, medicine, basketball

Tutoring Subjects

Advanced Placement Prep

History

AP English Language and Composition

AP United States History

AP US History

College English

College Essays

College Geography

College Level American History

Creative Writing

Emergency Medicine

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

Geography

High School English

High School Geography

High School Level American History

Medicine

Organic Chemistry

PSAT Writing Skills

Psychology

Public Health

Public Speaking

Reading

SAT Writing and Language

Science

Social Sciences

Social studies

Test Prep

Writing