A photo of Emily, a tutor from University of Arizona

Emily

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a recent graduate of the University of Arizona, with two degrees: a BS in Neuroscience and Cognitive Science and a BSHS in Physiology. In the future, I hope to continue schooling and become a Physician’s Assistant.

Throughout my scholarly career, I have tutored a wide variety of people ranging from my younger siblings, underclassmen, and fellow classmates. Besides helping my two younger siblings with their homework, I often helped fellow classmates work through problems in General Chemistry, Algebra, Statistics, Pre-Calculus, and Calculus 1. In my last year at the U of A, I preceptored for 2 classes (NROS 310 and PSIO 201), mentoring other Neuroscience and Physiology majors in their respective courses.

Due to my science-heavy coursework, I am most comfortable with tutoring in Mathematics and Biology but I believe I can also be an asset with essay revision and other writing skills. Having participated in various research projects throughout my undergraduate career, I have learned to write for a variety of audiences including but not limited to doctors, scientists, and the general public.

When tutoring, I believe in patience and perseverance. Sometimes it can be difficult to learn a new concept, but if you keep trying to look at the problem in a new way sooner or later those neural pathways will start forming and you’ll become a master of the subject! Making a topic humorous is usually my best way of figuring something out, but I can help you find your own way as well!

At the U of A, I was the treasurer of the Quidditch Team for 2 years and a Beater/Chaser for 4. Now that I have graduated, however, I spend my free time volunteering at a clinic for children with varying disabilities. I also enjoy making digital art, sewing, and crocheting stuffed animals.

Emily’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Arizona - Bachelor of Science, Neuroscience

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 32

ACT English: 34

ACT Math: 34

ACT Reading: 32

ACT Science: 30

SAT Composite: 2110

SAT Math: 750

SAT Verbal: 740

SAT Writing: 620

AP Biology: 4

AP Statistics: 5

AP French: 4

AP Physics B: 4

AP English Literature: 5

AP US History: 5

AP World History: 5

SAT Mathematics Level 2: 750

SAT Subject Test in Physics: 620

SAT Subject Test in U.S. History: 770

AP Psychology: 5

AP U.S. Government & Politics: 5

Hobbies

Quidditch, sewing, drawing, crochet


Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

Anyone can learn anything. If you're having trouble, try to look at the topic in a new perspective. It just takes patience and perseverance! You can do it!

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

First, we'd go over the coursework in general and establish what needs to be focused on in the future (ex. upcoming exams). Then, we'd go over specific questions (usually on the topic being covered that week in class).

How can you help a student become an independent learner?

Practice, practice, practice! I'll be there to show the student how to make flash cards and maybe give a practice worksheet or two, but it's up to the student to make their own cards and finish those sheets on their own time. It sounds like a lot of extra work, but it's worth it!