A photo of Emily, a tutor from Purdue University-Main Campus

Emily

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated from Purdue University in May of 2013 with degrees in both Actuarial Science and Statistics and a minor in Management. After spending a year working as a consulting actuary, I decided to make a career change and returned to school to pursue a future as an optometrist. My motivation for this drastic career change was due to my passion for helping others and my desire to work more closely with people of all ages. I have an extensive background in mathematics and first-hand experience applying math to real world problems while working as an actuary. One of my main strengths that has been utilized in my work experience is my ability to explain complex mathematical concepts to others and to test for their understanding. I have previous experience as a private tutor and feel that my educational and professional background provide a great platform to continue tutoring in various mathematical and statistical subjects.

Emily’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Purdue University-Main Campus - Bachelors, Actuarial Science with a second major in Statistics and minor in Management

Graduate Degree: TBD (currently accepted at Southern College of Optometry and interviewing at Illinois College of Optometry, Arizona College of Optometry, and Pacific University College of Optometry) - Current Grad Student, Doctor of Optometry

Hobbies

Aside from working toward a future career as an optometrist, I enjoy dancing, live music, and traveling!

Tutoring Subjects

10th Grade Math

11th Grade Math

12th Grade Math

4th Grade Math

7th Grade Math

8th Grade Math

9th Grade Math

ACT Math

Algebra

Algebra 2

Algebra 3/4

Applied Mathematics

Arithmetic

DAT Quantitative Reasoning

Elementary Algebra

Elementary School Math

Geometry

Graduate Test Prep

Homework Support

Intermediate Algebra

College Math

Math

Middle School Math

OAT Quantitative Reasoning

Other

Pre-Algebra

Quantitative Reasoning

SAT Math

SAT Mathematics

SAT Subject Test in Mathematics Level 1

SAT Subject Test in Mathematics Level 2

Statistics

Summer

Test Prep