A photo of George, a tutor from Washington University in St Louis

George

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I was born in Georgia and spent most of my childhood in Maryland; I'm currently a graduate of Washington University in St. Louis. I'm very excited about starting my career in Physical Therapy and potentially spending a gap year abroad doing service or working an internship. Outside the classroom, I love to dance Salsa and play soccer and Spikeball. I'm the oldest of ten children, and I am trilingual (Spanish, Arabic, English). I really enjoy nature, exercise, music, cooking, singing, conversations, and pets/animals.
Regarding my tutoring experience, in high school I tutored younger students in biology and Spanish through a Spanish National Honor Society. After my freshmen year in college, I spent a summer abroad in Lebanon and tutored Lebanese students in Math, English, and SAT as they prepared to apply to American universities. During my undergraduate sophomore year, I tutored college-level chemistry and was a Teaching Assistant (TA) for a biology course. The summer after that I gained more experience tutoring middle/high school students in Math/English through community members. My duties often involved teaching novel concepts to students, assisting with homework, and breaking down difficult material into more understandable terms.
I have a diverse and strong experience in mathematics, including algebra, geometry, calculus, and trigonometry. I come from a family of engineers and was always taught to understand the root of concepts in order to be able to apply them fluidly when problem-solving.
I have studied, enjoyed, and done well in psychology, biology (cell, molecular, genetics), chemistry, physiology, physics, anatomy, and more. As I move forward to make a career out of science, I trust that I have learned the material well and am able to apply and teach it. I have taken several AP courses and exams in these areas as well, and I am able to tutor in those subjects.
I rigorously studied the SAT when I was applying for college admissions and read several materials on key skills to have and efficient ways to solve problems, including how to read and write critically. I also have good experience in SAT II tests, including, Biology, Math, and Spanish as well as the PSAT. Finally, I applied to a wide variety of colleges and have a generous amount of knowledge/experience on how to navigate applications, essays, and admissions.

George’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Washington University in St Louis - Bachelors, Biology, General

Test Scores

SAT Composite: 2200

SAT Math: 700

SAT Verbal: 700

SAT Writing: 800

AP Biology: 4

AP Calculus AB: 5

AP Calculus BC: 5

AP English Literature: 4

AP Spanish Language: 5

AP Psychology: 5

SAT Subject Test in Biology E/M: 740

Hobbies

Salsa dancing, Spikeball, Soccer, Jui Jitsu, Poker, Fitness, Cooking, Carpentry, Darts, Fiction writing, Travel

Tutoring Subjects

Algebra

Algebra 2

Anatomy & Physiology

AP Biology

AP Physics 1

AP Psychology

Biology

Calculus

Chemistry

College Algebra

College Biology

College Chemistry

College Physics

General Biology

General Chemistry

High School Biology

High School Chemistry

High School Physics

Languages

Math

Middle School Science

Physical Science

Physics

Physiology

Pre-Algebra

Pre-Calculus

PSAT Prep

PSAT Critical Reading

PSAT Mathematics

PSAT Writing Skills

Psychology

SAT Prep

SAT Math

SAT Mathematics

SAT Reading

SAT Subject Test in Biology E/M

SAT Subject Tests Prep

SAT Writing and Language

Science

Social Sciences

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Test Prep