1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Lucia

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Lucia, a tutor from University of Connecticut


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I earned both my undergraduate degree in Communication Disorders and my Master's degree in Special Education at the University of Connecticut. Go Huskies! I have been a special education teacher in Connecticut public schools for the last 8 years and really enjoy working at the elementary school level. I like to teach elementary writing and elementary math, but have a greater interest and specialty in the area of elementary reading. I am a Fund for Teachers Fellow and spent my grant on a week-long training learning how to teach reading in a multi-sensory way through Orton-Gillingham. As a special education teacher, I work with students in small groups or one-on-one setting. I like the smaller groups because I can get to know the students better on both an academic as well as personal level. I'm better able to plan my instruction based on what I see as their strengths and areas of growth. My students feel safe working with me and taking risks they may not take in their general classrooms. My calm, patient manner helps students feel comfortable asking questions and trying new things with their academics.

When I am not working as a special education teacher, I get outside and enjoy the New England weather. I like going for hikes, bike rides and, running 5ks. In the summer I am always by the water, going paddle boarding or kayaking. During quarantine, I learned how to crochet. I like making blankets and clothes for friends and family.

Connect with a tutor like Lucia

Lucia’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Connecticut - Bachelor in Arts, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Graduate Degree: University of Connecticut - Masters in Education, Special Education


I enjoy being outside when the weather is nice. I like to take my dog for walks or hikes and go bike riding. I like to be by the water in the summer, going to the beach or paddle boarding. I have recently started crocheting and enjoy that to destress from the day.

Tutoring Subjects

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing


Learning Differences




Special Education


Connect with a tutor like Lucia