1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like James

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of James, a tutor from Auburn University

James

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I received my PhD in Literary Studies/English from Georgia State University. My primary concentration was Medieval Literature, and my secondary concentration was History of the English Language. I love literature, words, and writing! While earning my PhD, I spent a semester in Venice, Italy, which really broadened my perspective on all aspects of language and writing. I taught English 1101/1102 English Composition to hundreds of students for five years at GSU. I also taught Survey of World Literature there, as well as Academic Writing at Mercer University as an adjunct professor. My doctoral dissertation has been downloaded hundreds of times around the world, and counting! It focuses upon specific representations of fantastic beasts and monsters in Old English writings (you've perhaps heard of the redoubtable Grendel?). Over my years of teaching, I immensely enjoyed working with students to enhance THEIR enjoyment of the writing process, which many did not initially feel that they possessed. I have always taken great satisfaction from accompanying students through the various stages of the writing process until arriving at polished finished products of which they were proud to call their own. In my spare time, I love reading (not a shock there), looking up word origins, writing, traveling a bit, and spending time with my family and friends.

Connect with a tutor like James

James’ Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Auburn University - Bachelor in Arts, English

Graduate Degree: Georgia State University - Doctor of Philosophy, English

Hobbies

Reading, both fiction and non-fiction; writing; traveling, especially to historic areas; foreign language (I have some BASIC proficiency in reading Italian and French); etymologies/word origins; ancestry; long walks

Tutoring Subjects

Admissions

College Application Essays

College English

Dissertation Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Essay Editing

High School English

High School Writing

Literature

Medieval Literature

Other

Thesis Writing

Writing

Connect with a tutor like James