1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Melody

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Melody, a tutor from University of Minnesota

Melody

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

For the past 9 years, I have been teaching! For four years here in Austin I taught Bilingual Elementary education, teaching students reading, writing, math, science, and social studies in both Spanish and English. Before that I was teaching ESL abroad. I taught in several different countries including Japan, Korea, and Argentina. I had the opportunity to teach all age groups: from two year olds to people in their seventies! I love to make content fun and memorable by using visuals, games, songs, physical activity, or any other device that will help students make cognitive connections to content material. I believe that all students learn the material differently, and that all students can be successful given the appropriate instruction.


I graduated with honors from the University of Minnesota in 2006 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and a Spanish minor. Although I earned a liberal arts degree, I also followed a pre-med path and studied Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Biochemistry, and Genetics. During my time at University, I did a study abroad in Merida, Venezuela. While living abroad I completed the Cambridge University CELTA, the Certificate of English Language Teaching to Adults.

Connect with a tutor like Melody

Melody’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Minnesota - Bachelor of Science, English

Hobbies

Crossfit, running, yoga, biking, travel, trying new foods, literature

Tutoring Subjects

College English

College Essays

Comparative Literature

Conversational Spanish

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

High School English

Languages

Literature

Math

Other

Phonics

Reading

Spanish

Spanish 1

Spanish 2

Spanish 3

Spanish 4

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Writing

Q & A

What is your teaching philosophy?

Teaching should be fun and student-based! Each student is different, and it's important to find ways that help each individual succeed.

What might you do in a typical first session with a student?

I would listen to my student's needs and wants. What are they hoping to learn and how do they like to learn?

Connect with a tutor like Melody