A photo of Jessica, a tutor from Towson University

Jessica

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

As a graduate from Towson University, located in the Baltimore, MD area, I am a fully certified educator with a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education. I have also graduated with a minor in Mathematics and am certified to teach middle school mathematics, including Algebra 1 and Algebra 2. I am currently pursuing a degree in linguistics and eventually hoping to work with English as a Second Language learners.

My tutoring experience is generally elementary subjects and middle school/high school mathematics. I have worked privately as an algebra tutor for just over 2 years. Since I am currently a fourth grade classroom teacher, I work with intermediate-aged children daily. I have a significant amount of special needs children in my class, so I am very experienced with working with these children. I am certified to tutor English and grammar, elementary reading, writing, science, and social studies, as well as, elementary math, middle school algebra and geometry, and basic high school algebra.

My teaching and tutoring style follows a gradual release system. I normally model the correct response for the student, so they are able to watch me first. Then, I act as a facilitator and allow the student to attempt a similar problem with my guidance. And finally, the student works independently and I provide feedback after they are finished. I believe this builds student confidence and allows them to feel strong doing work in class or without the aide of a tutor. I believe that students learn best when they can explain to someone else exactly what they did and why they are correct. I will normally have my students verbalize what they are doing and summarize what they have done. This allows me to assess whether they have mastered the concept and if I feel comfortable moving on.

Outside of work, I enjoy reading, hiking, singing, and dancing. I am currently on a kickball and softball team with my friends, which is very fun. I grew up by the beach, so it is my favorite place to be in the world. Most of my days during the summer are spent outside by the water. Travel is also one of my passions. I love seeing different parts of the world and learning about different cultures.

I hope this gives a good view of who I am and what I am all about. I look forward to hearing from prospective students and helping in any way I can. Feel free to message me if you have any questions.

Jessica’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Towson University - Bachelor of Science, Elementary Education

Hobbies

Reading, travelling, hiking, and playing sports.

Tutoring Subjects