1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Chelsea

Personalized Learning • Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Chelsea, a tutor from Hiram College

Chelsea

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a Hiram College graduate, and I earned my Bachelor of Arts degree in Biology, with a focus on Ornithology and Wildlife Rehabilitation. I also successfully pursued minor concentrations in Writing and Biomedical Humanities.

While attending Hiram, I worked for several years at the on-campus Writing Center, where I was available for in-person appointments to help students review their persuasive and personal response essays, thesis statements, resumes, and college applications. I also spent one year tutoring for Hiram's Weekend College students, doing online and in-person tutoring for Writing and Composition classes.

I am available to tutor students in Writing (fiction, non-fiction, literary journalism, and memoir), Literature, English, and Introductory Biology subjects, as well as ISEE preparation.
I have a always had a passion for writing, with a particular interest in creative non-fiction and memoir, but I enjoy tutoring all aspects of the subject•

With any of these Writing/English subjects, I like to ask the student lots of questions about his or her work. I want to know the ideas that are driving their argument or thesis, whether or not they are answering the assigned question or problem, and how they are attempting to achieve a coherent, engaging piece. If the student has trouble answering questions about their piece, we work through the trouble areas to make them more cohesive, whether that be by changing the grammar, order of ideas, or overarching themes. I want to listen to the student, because only they know what they are trying to convey with their piece; I am just here to make their argument more solid.

When I'm not tutoring, I enjoy many hobbies. These include reading countless books, listening to my favorite bands, watching anime, and caring for my pets (which include a special-needs cocker spaniel and several geckos!). I also really enjoy being outdoors, and I am an avid birder and volunteer with local wildlife rehabilitation organizations.

Connect with a tutor like Chelsea

Chelsea’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Hiram College - Bachelor in Arts, Biology, General

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 30

ACT English: 33

ACT Reading: 33

ACT Science: 30

Hobbies

Birding, hiking, photography, reading, reptiles, caring for my pets


Connect with a tutor like Chelsea