1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like John

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of John, a tutor from Grove City College


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

All students deserve the opportunity to succeed in their education, regardless of their background and the challenges they face. In 17 years as a professional educator, I have witnessed the reality that many of the students who need the most help are the last ones to receive it. I want to help any student who is willing to improve themselves and to develop their potential. School is challenging, and students need as many allies as possible to overcome their challenges. If I can assist my students along their journey to maturity and confidence, then I will consider myself a good teacher.
I earned my undergraduate degree from Grove City College, PA (B.A. in History-Secondary Education/Social Studies), and I earned a Masters in Education from Penn State (York). In the fall I will begin taking classes to earn a Masters Degree in Special Education. I have worked in both public and private schools for over 17 years, teaching social studies (American and world history, military history, music history, economics), English (grammar, literature, reading comprehension), health/first aid, and Latin (introductory and middle school level). I tutor in history/social studies, especially in the writing of research papers for history classes. I also tutor in Latin (middle/early high school level) and English grammar/composition.
My teaching philosophy is rooted in my firm belief that all students have innate skills, interests and abilities that they need to develop as they grow. Education is a lifelong journey, and the classroom is just one aspect of this journey. I also understand that school can be a struggle for many students, and traditional classroom learning is not always the best option for them. When I tutor students, I do my best to first listen to what they think about the subject and how they understand it. Then, I work to guide the students toward the solutions to the problems they are facing rather than just give them the answers. Communication is key to my tutoring style, because it's rare that an answer or solution suddenly appears in a few minutes - it takes clear and consistent dialogue to find the student's best understanding of any topic or assignment.
American and world history are my favorite subjects to tutor because I enjoy helping students find their own connection to the topics that they are studying. Once the connection is made, the comprehension and analysis aspects of history open up to the student in ways that surprise and excite them. I am also partial to tutoring Latin because it's the foundation of the English language (66% of English words have a Latin root!) and it aids students at all levels with their vocabulary skills.
When I'm not working with students, you will most likely find me outside, in the kitchen, or the workshop/garage. I love the outdoors, and I am an avid hiker, runner, kayaker, camper, and nature observer. Cooking fascinates me, and since I do much of the cooking in my household, I enjoy preparing healthy meals and trying out new recipes. I also read consistently, and I enjoy wood and metal working when I have the time. Physical fitness and sports are a major part of my life, so I also enjoy working out (at home and at the gym) and encouraging my family members (including my dog!) to do the same.

Connect with a tutor like John

John’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Grove City College - Bachelor in Arts, History Teacher Education

Graduate Degree: Pennsylvania State University-Penn State York - Masters in Education, Curriculum and Instruction


I love to be outdoors - hiking, running, kayaking, backpacking, camping, exploring. I also enjoy fixing/building things (especially metal and wood), reading, caring for my family and my animals. I'm also a committed reader and sports enthusiast.

Tutoring Subjects

Ancient and Medieval Heritage


English Grammar and Syntax

High School Level American History

High School World History




Latin 1

Latin 2

Learning Differences

Middle School

Middle School Social Studies


Social Studies

Special Education

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Connect with a tutor like John