1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Jessica

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Jessica, a tutor from Beloit College

Jessica

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated, with Honors, from Beloit College. I received my Bachelor of Arts in English Literature. Under the mentorship of a Psychology professor, I designed and completed a minor in Pediatric Behavioral Medicine.

After graduation, I worked as the
National Kidney Foundation of Illinois Volunteer Support Coordinator.

A short time time later, after my summer wedding, I left in order to pursue graduate studies. I received a Master of Science in Child Development with a Specialization in Infancy from Erikson Institute. While working on my M.A., I volunteered as an after school tutor for Brain Boosters.

After receiving my M.A., I accepted an offer to become Director of Brain Boosters. My position allowed me to work directly and indirectly with students ages 5-12. Also, I educated and supported all of our college-age and adult tutors. During my time as Director, I gave birth to two boys.

After the birth of my second son, I pursued and obtained my licensure in Pediatric Developmental Therapy for the State of Illinois Early Intervention Program.

For the past twelve years I maintained my DT credentials and received my licensure in Pediatric Developmental Therapy Evaluation for the State of Illinois Early Intervention Program. Shortly after becoming a certified evaluator, I gave birth to my daughter.

Several years ago, the needs of my three children required for me to have a more flexible schedule. I reduced my DT schedule and accepted a tutoring job with VIPKID.

Presently, I am tutoring native Chinese children ranging in age from 3-16. The main focus of the program is teaching English reading, writing and speaking. Additionally, I obtained certifications that allow me to teach advanced grammar, public speaking, writing, science and phonetic awareness.

When not working I enjoy spending time with my husband, three children and our dog. However, the job of motherhood is quite a lot of work.

I am a lifelong learner and teacher. I believe that everyone has the capacity to learn. I quickly and easily adjust to meet the needs of each individual student and bring patience to each lesson. I see my job of tutoring as being one of scaffolding and support.
Additionally, I believe that students learn best in a fun environment that balances accomplishment and effort.

I am confident that working together will help you to reach your learning goals.

Connect with a tutor like Jessica

Jessica’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Beloit College - Bachelor in Arts, English

Graduate Degree: Erikson Institute - Master of Science, Behavioral Sciences

Hobbies

Reading Gardening Time w/ Family (game night, etc.) Movie Club

Tutoring Subjects

Admissions

Art

College Application Essays

Elementary School English

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

Handwriting

High School English

Learning Differences

Middle School English

Middle School Reading

Middle School Writing

Other

Reading

Special Education

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Visual Arts

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Jessica