1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Mary

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Mary, a tutor from University of Georgia

Mary

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Hi! My name is Mary, and I'm a tutor here at Varsity Tutors. I specialize in Pre-Algebra, Algebra I & II, Writing and English. I primarily work with students in middle and high school. I'm excited to work with you!

Tutoring sessions can be booked from 30 minutes to 1.5 hours. I typically recommend booking in 1 hour increments, once or twice per week, as this tends to work best for my students and myself.

All tutoring sessions will include hands-on learning with practice problems or prompts. I am able to identify learning struggles and apply personalized lesson plans that best suit the student's learning and personality style. If needed, I can also open communication with the student's regular teacher to further identify areas of improvement.

EXPERIENCE

I have been working in various learning environments since high school. I started with teaching a children's class at my church every Sunday. I later gained two years of experience in privately tutoring elementary and middle school students.

In college, I helped my own friends through their high school and college courses. I worked at Apple Inc. from 2019-2020 as an iOS, macOS, and Wireless Multimedia Advisor, teaching people (from kids to senior citizens) about their devices.

I have been working at Varsity Tutors as a full-time private tutor since August 2020. I am also a full-time student at the University of Georgia. I plan to graduate in December 2022 with a bachelor of science in Psychology and a minor in American Sign Language.

Connect with a tutor like Mary

Mary’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Georgia - Bachelor in Arts, Psychology

Test Scores

ACT English: 33

Hobbies

In my spare time, I enjoy writing, playing video games (like Minecraft, Civilization VI, and Horizon: Zero Dawn), and taking care of my three cats. My husband and I live in Athens, Georgia. When I'm not tutoring, I'm usually studying. I plan to graduate from the University of Georgia in December 2022 with a bachelor of science in Psychology. I plan to apply for UGA’s School of Psychology Masters Program, then earn my counseling certification and become a School Psychologist.

Tutoring Subjects

ACT English

ACT Writing

Algebra

AP Research

English

Essay Editing

Geometry

High School Writing

Math

Other

Pre-Algebra

Psychology

Social Sciences

Spelling Bee

Test Prep

Writing

Connect with a tutor like Mary