1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Jessica

Expert online tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Jessica, a tutor from Goucher College

Jessica

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I received my Bachelors of Arts in Special and Elementary Education at Goucher College and went on to earn my Masters of Arts in Human Development at the University of Maryland. Since graduation, I have taught in the public school setting for 7 years; four years at the elementary school level and three at the middle school level. I am a certified Special Education teacher in the state of Maryland, and over the last several years have primarily taught math classes for students with and without disabilities. While I teach a broad range of subjects, I am most passionate about Math and Writing. I am a firm believer that all students the ability to grow and learn. I love working with students who have previously "hated" math or felt that they are just not a "math person" (this goes for other subjects as well, but I hear it most often in math. I always tell these students they have just not yet found their passion, and I love helping them to discover it. Working with students who struggle to understand grade-level material is my passion, I also enjoy working with students who are looking for acceleration and enrichment. In my spare time, I enjoy reading, playing and running with my dog (she is a bundle of energy!), and taking dance classes.

Connect with a tutor like Jessica

Jessica’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Goucher College - Bachelor in Arts, Special Education

Graduate Degree: University of Maryland-College Park - Master of Arts, Human Development and Family Studies

Test Scores

ACT Composite: 32

ACT English: 35

ACT Math: 31

ACT Reading: 33

SAT Verbal: 700

Hobbies

Dance (Ballet, Jazz, Modern, Contemporary) Reading (Historical Fiction, Mystery, and Fantasy are some of my favorite genres) Running with my dog

Tutoring Subjects

ACT English

ACT Writing

Algebra

Elementary School

Elementary School Math

Elementary School Reading

Elementary School Science

Elementary School Writing

English

English Grammar and Syntax

ESL/ELL

Essay Editing

Math

Middle School Math

Middle School Reading

Middle School Reading Comprehension

Middle School Science

Middle School Writing

Other

Phonics

PRAXIS

PRAXIS Elementary School

Pre-Algebra

Professional Certifications

SAT Reading

SAT Writing and Language

Science

Special Education

Study Skills

Study Skills and Organization

Test Prep

Connect with a tutor like Jessica