1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Andrew

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Andrew, a tutor from Northern Michigan University

Andrew

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My Background
I am currently pursuing my B.S. in Environmental Science at Northern Michigan University, where I will graduate this December. I've been a tutor for about two and a half years, and my tutoring experience began in high school. I created an after-school tutoring program for the ACT test, where many of the students enrolled ended up with stellar results without any prior testing experience! It was also in high school that I successfully completed the IB Full Diploma Program, which involves a broad academic field, community service, and a "Theory of Knowledge" course. I've continued my involvement in education by becoming a tutor for the university disability services. I also am a director for the sustainability education program at my university called EcoReps, and I am a chairman of the NMU Sustainability Advisory Council.

My Tutoring Style / Philosophy
I believe learning - whether for grade school, a career path, or personal enrichment - is a fundamental, intuitive, and empowering skill of which everyone is capable. I take a highly individualized approach to learning. I have my students complete the VARK Assessment and share their knowledge - strong academic subjects, personal interests, or anything else that showcases what they know - to understand how they learn best. I've found my students' understanding of the study material and academic performance improves substantially by fostering individual skills, emphasizing fundamental concepts to their learning, and having a tutor who is willing to teach according to their needs, whatever the subject!

Additional Info
I've been a tutor for about two and a half years, and I have honed my ability to evaluate and develop individual learning skills across a variety of subjects - from calculus and chemistry to English and music. My personal favorite subjects to tutor are music, geography, and ACT test prep.
Outside of tutoring, some of my hobbies include reading, weightlifting/running, exploring new places and things to do, nutrition, and spending time with my friends and family. I also enjoy playing, reading about, and listening to music (Stevie Wonder's been a favorite of mine lately!)
If you'd like to set up a session for one of the listed subjects or have any other questions about my teaching style, feel free to get in contact with me and I'll respond as soon as I'm available.

I look forward to working with you!

Connect with a tutor like Andrew

Andrew’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Northern Michigan University - Bachelor of Science, Environmental Science

Hobbies

Music, reading, weightlifting/running, trying out new things/seeing new places

Connect with a tutor like Andrew