1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Diane

Expert online tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Diane, a tutor from University of Massachusetts Amherst

Diane

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I graduated from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst with a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics with a concentration in Applied Mathematics. As of right now, I'll be tutoring Pre-Algebra, Algebra I, and Algebra II through Varsity Tutors. I have experience tutoring a wide range of age groups. I have worked at the Mathnasium where I tutored k-12 students. At Holyoke Community College, I tutored traditional and non-traditional students in Developmental Math, Calculus I, Calculus II, and Linear Algebra. Through that position, I also spent some time tutoring math at a local high school. For me, tutoring is most rewarding when I get to see a student change their perspective on math. Many people can get discouraged when stuck on a math problem. Many people harbor negative experiences from previous math classes. My personal goal as a tutor is to ease the frustration and help them make new, positive experiences learning math. I want my students to experience victories, have confidence, build up grit, and learn to enjoy math. I believe no one is inherently "bad at math". I think some students are not accustomed to thinking and speaking in the language of mathematics and/or they are missing some fundamental conceptual knowledge. With practice, guidance, and teaching, I believe anyone can do well in mathematics. As for myself, I am currently trying to teach myself computer programming, specifically Python, where thinking in the language of mathematics is extremely helpful. Also, a fun fact about myself: I lived in Daegu, South Korea for seven years while my father worked for the U.S. military. However, I don't speak any Korean. You could say I was a long-term tourist.

Connect with a tutor like Diane

Diane’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Massachusetts Amherst - Bachelor of Science, Mathematics

Hobbies

Drawing, crocheting, rollerblading

Tutoring Subjects

Connect with a tutor like Diane