1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Matthew

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Matthew, a tutor from University of Delaware

Matthew

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a tutor that lives in Westfield, NJ. I am currently a junior at the University of Delaware pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Mathematics Education and a minor in Spanish. While tutoring math is something that I enjoy, music is my ultimate passion. At school, I play clarinet in my school's marching band and I am a conductor for a student-led ensemble that plays video game music. When I spend time relaxing, I cannot help but put on my headphones and listen to classical music. I am also into sports such as baseball and basketball.

Regarding tutoring experience, I work at my school's tutoring office an on-campus tutor for Calculus I, Calculus II, Calculus III, and Discrete Mathematics. In one semester I tutored for roughly 57 hours, and as of today I have accumulated over 110 hours of tutoring. I've helped students who were struggling in their respective courses. For instance, I tutored a student who had previously failed Calculus II twice, and by the end of the semester he had finally passed the course and was able to graduate. I also tutored a graduate student who had not seen calculus for many years. After a shaky start to the semester, he was able to get back on track with my assistance.

Outside of school, I work at a local tutoring center. Here, I work with a variety of students each day. I've tutored a wide range of math subjects, including Pre-Algebra, Geometry, Algebra I, Algebra II, and Calculus. I have also helped students prepare for the SAT and the ACT math sections.

In addition to possessing a strong knowledge of each subject area that I tutor, I am able to explain virtually any mathematical concept in a way that is easier to understand. I have extensive notes on these subjects so that I can provide as many practice problems as possible. I also like to use humor and clever analogies to help students understand mathematical concepts that are normally very abstract.

Whenever I tutor, my main objective is always to help the student in any way that I can. I am easy to reach and will provide fast responses. I also welcome any resources or suggestions that the parents are willing to share.

Connect with a tutor like Matthew

Matthew’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Delaware - Bachelor in Arts, Mathematics Teacher Education

Hobbies

Marching Band, Conducting, Basketball

Tutoring Subjects

ACT Math

Algebra

Algebra 2

AP Calculus AB

AP Calculus BC

Business

Business Calculus

Calculus

Calculus 2

Calculus 3

College Application Essays

GED Prep

GED Math

Geometry

HSPT Math Prep

HSPT Quantitative Prep

ISEE Prep

ISEE-Lower Level Mathematics Achievement

ISEE-Middle Level Mathematics Achievement

ISEE-Upper Level Mathematics Achievement

Math

Other

Pre-Algebra

Pre-Calculus

SAT Prep

SAT Math

SAT Subject Test in Mathematics Level 1

SAT Subject Test in Mathematics Level 2

SAT Subject Tests Prep

Test Prep

Trigonometry

Connect with a tutor like Matthew