A photo of Marion, a tutor from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Marion

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a native speaker of German, and obtained my high school diploma (“Abitur”) from high school (“Gymnasium”) in my hometown in Oldenburg, Germany. After my move to the USA I graduated with an Associate Degree in Science from Parkland College in Champaign, IL. I continued my studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign, majoring in Food Science. During my college years I worked as a tutor in a peer tutoring lab. I was asked to tutor German, Comparative Literature 1, Organic Chemistry and Algebra based on my GPA and professional conduct. I am currently enrolled at SUNY Empire State College for the completion of my Bachelor in Science in Psychology.
While I provided instruction for a variety of subjects, I enjoyed tutoring German the most. As a native speaker, I felt most at ease in broadening my students’ knowledge of the German language. Since I am fluent in English I have excellent communication skills, and the ability to explain the concepts of a foreign language in the student’s native language. I am very familiar with grammar and its challenges, which translates to an understanding of German and English grammar. Having taken a number of writing classes over the years, I am comfortable in providing instruction towards written assignments.
Aside from tutoring, I am also an experienced child care provider, having worked with children ages three to sixteen. As a mom of three children, I have learned how to motivate children and teenagers to gain knowledge in various areas of study. I enjoy getting to know a person, and finding a way to raise his/her curiosity about a new subject. Having grown up in Germany, I love educating people about German culture, customs and history.
I am a firm believer in lifelong learning. In recent years I was a student of Karate, Creative Writing, Fitness and Health. In my spare time, I have volunteered as a soccer coach for my daughter’s soccer team, and as a foster parent for a cat rescue organization, in addition to supervising recess at my children’s school. My hobbies include cooking, baking, reading and spending time outdoors. I enjoy taking trips with my family, exploring different areas of the country, and imparting interest in history to my children.

Marion’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign - Associates, Food Science

Hobbies

enjoys reading, exercising, hiking, outdoors, music

Tutoring Subjects

German 1

German 2