A photo of Alison, a tutor from Rollins College

Alison

Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

I am a graduate of Rollins College in Winter Park, FL and of the University of Central Florida. I received my Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and a Masters in Exceptional Student Education K-12 with an ESOL endorsement. Since graduation from Rollins College, I have immersed myself in education while trying to gain as much experience in the field as possible. After graduating from Rollins, I interned at a facility that specialized in educating students with autism and individually working with each student to assist them in reaching their academic potential. From there, I began working as a paraprofessional at a charter school that also educates students with autism. I worked there for three years before I transferred to my current job as a middle school InD teacher. I really enjoy the job and actually began my job as a tutor as a result. A parent of one of my students asked if I could begin tutoring her over the summer to keep her on track for the upcoming school year. Before I knew it, I was tutoring her brother (3rd grade) and another one of my students. I really enjoy tutoring and working one-on-one with students to achieve their academic goals. I particularly like working with students in math, writing, grammar, reading, and phonics. In my experience, I have noticed that many students are lacking education in developing the basic skills that can help them in reading (identifying letter sounds/blending) and in math (looking for key words in word problems/using manipulatives to better understand adding/subtracting/multiplying). I am a firm believer in education, and I believe that it is absolutely necessary to have in order for them to reach their full potential and reach their goals!

Alison’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: Rollins College - Bachelor in Arts, Psychology

Graduate Degree: University of Central Florida - Master of Arts, ESE w/ ESOL Endorsement

Hobbies

I enjoy being active. I like working out at the gym, swimming, and even going for long walks around my neighborhood! I also enjoy reading and playing with my pet bunny, Kyle!

Tutoring Subjects

College English

Comparative Literature

Elementary Math

Elementary School Math

English

English Grammar and Syntax

High School English

Literature

Math

Other

Phonics

Reading

Special Education

Writing