1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Caroline

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Caroline, a tutor from CUNY College of Staten Island


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

My name is Caroline, and I have been teaching since 2009. I have lots of experience in both face-to-face and virtual classroom settings, in small and in larger groups. A little about me...

As far as my teaching experience goes, I completed a NIH/NSF teaching fellowship where I worked in a high school, developing a psychology-oriented research class called "Psyched for Research!" for these students to take where they could earn college credit. My impetus was to allow high school students to get a taste of research before diving right in when they reach college - this way, they'd know if they like it or not! I ventured into online teaching in 2016 and it has been an amazing experience. I have taught Psychology courses ranging from introductory courses, to cognitive and neuroscience-based classes. I also hold a position with the College of Staten Island of the City University of New York. I was face-to-face for the longest time (2009-2020), but since COVID I have been conducting these classes virtually as well. I usually rotate between a Drugs & Behavior, a Physiological Psychology/Neuroscience-based class, or a Cognitive Psychology course.

Early on, when I was an undergraduate student and Master's student, I worked with the intellectually disabled on a health advocacy program. One thing I can tell you - if you ever have the opportunity to work with this population, take it! It is the most rewarding experience, as the disabled are so caring, genuine, and loving. It truly is an amazing experience and I miss working with them. I received my BA and MA in Psychology from the City University of New York, along with an MPhil and PhD in Neuropsychology from the same university. My career thus far has been dedicated to the study of drug use in the context of chronic pain and addiction. I began my research in basic science; that is, I spent the first decade studying mouse models of this field. After "completing" my education (I put that in quotes because I feel like it is never really completed!), I moved on to clinical studies in the same field at Yale University's Department of Psychiatry, where I wrapped up a NIDA-funded postdoctoral fellowship in July 2017. After you earn a PhD, you typically go on to get more expertise and solidify yourself as a player in a particular area, which is what the postdoctoral period is for. I made the move to clinical research because I wanted to be able to interact with my study participants, and to be able to better see the outcomes of my work. While at Yale, I conducted a human lab study that investigated the effects of an acne medication on the side effects of opioids (yes - it seems as though an acne medication may reduce certain side effects of opioids!). However, my time as a fellow at Yale quickly passed, and I am now a "grown-up" in my field! In July 2017 I began a Research Scientist/Assistant Professor position at the New York State Psychiatric Institute of Columbia University Medical Center to continue my efforts to improve treatment for chronic pain. Here, I am involved in research on cannabis/THC and cannabidiol (CBD), and am studying potential synergistic effects of THC and CBD and opioids for pain. The prevalence of addiction resulting from the pursuit of pain relief and improved quality of life is striking, and engulfs too many lives. Thus, my long-term goal is to improve currently utilized pain management strategies (opioids), and contribute to the development of novel medications and treatment paradigms for chronic pain.

On a personal note, I am a mother to young twin boys (talk about a learning experience - I am perpetually exhausted), and I love football (Go Giants!). I was born and raised in NYC, though I moved to NJ in 2016. I love to spend time with my family - finding a good balance between work and family is so important but really hard. It helps to have mentors and supervisors who are supportive of a good work-life balance. I spend any free time I can with my family.

I love to teach and share my experiences from my education and research with my students. I think it is important for us to all share these experiences; it helps us become a closer and better team, and makes the environment much more friendly and interesting for all! I am looking forward to the experiences we will share with each other during our work together.

Connect with a tutor like Caroline

Caroline’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: CUNY College of Staten Island - Bachelor in Arts, Psychology

Graduate Degree: CUNY Queens College - Master of Arts, Psychology


Photography; reading; charcoal drawing; music; spending time with my family

Tutoring Subjects

AP Psychology


CLEP Introductory Psychology

Clinical Psychology



Social Sciences

Test Prep

Connect with a tutor like Caroline