1 of 7

Connect with hundreds of tutors like Miriam

Expert tutoring for students at all levels

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Featured by
Tutors from
A photo of Miriam, a tutor from SUNY College at Brockport


Certified Tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor
(888) 888-0446

Short version of educational credentials: Wm. Nottingham HS Regent's Diploma 1986 (semester's worth of AP credit). OCC+SUNY Brockport: BS cum laude 1993 Philosophy with Eng. lit., math and natural sciences.
Postgraduate Diploma/MA offered if I would let them call it Women's Studies in Modern European Philosophy. Middlesex University, UK campus 1999
Writer's Bureau Certificate of Competence Creative Writing (exclusively for professional writing) 2005. UK
4 MBA classes through Grand Canyon University 2009 & 2010.
KVHS: B1/B2 German language in Germany. 2011 & 2013+
International Open Academy TEFL certification education: currently enrolled and making progress 2022.

I'm an experienced mother. My child is now an adult. I did supervise and assist my son with his American 'smart kid' homework for 6 years but did not ever do it for him. When he was in high school I couldn't help him that much as we were in Germany.

Subjects that I tutored, in chronological order start way before I became a mother. I tutored a little philosophy as I liked it and was good at it. I think I may have helped someone with maths as I could do that to. I did also teach groups of children activities at a Summer Camp: like basic canoeing and how to boondoggle.
Back in the early 2000s, I did help grade ISTEP one year. In 2003, I was adjunct faculty in IUPUI's Philosophy Dept. In 2006, I taught two creative writing workshops through Continuing Education. In 2012, I taught advanced intermediate English (TEFL, uncertified) to 3 adults in Germany.

I love helping people learn and to share a natural enthusiasm. I'm open to teaching both children and adults.

Currently, I am actively training for TEFL certification through the International Open Academy.

Although I did take: Latin (3 mos.) French (3 mos.), Spanish (2 & 1/2 yrs) in the American educational system of the 1980s. I have received most of my own second language education from KVHS: German language learning for adults living in Germany as foreigners or immigrants. I believe this gives me especial insight into second language learning.

Connect with a tutor like Miriam

Miriam’s Qualifications

Education & Certification

Undergraduate Degree: SUNY College at Brockport - Bachelor of Science, Philosophy


I love museums and the arts. Some of my hobbies change depending on how much money is available to me. Some years I just read a lot; other years I swam or was involved with karate or aikido training. Typically, I feel better when I'm actively involved with church.

Tutoring Subjects

Creative Writing




Expository Writing

High School English

High School Writing



Middle School English

Middle School Writing

Philosophical Ethics


Social Sciences

Thesis Writing


Connect with a tutor like Miriam